Turkey Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was very tasty, perfect for a blustery day! I made just a few adjustments, I sauteed a small handful of minced onion, the jalapeno and the cumin together in a little olive oil to soften, then added the broth, I used 3 cans of it. Threw in some corn suggested by another reviewer, along with more cumin. I only put two of the tortillas in the soup. The remaining strips I crisped in a 400* oven and served them on top with the cheese. Cornbread on the side. We ALL enjoyed it, 16yo son couldn't get enough of it and my 8yo daughter had a second helping. That makes this recipe truely worthy of 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I just made this soup and am eating it as I write this review! It is really good--nice and spicey. I did make a few changes... I left out the half & half to save on calories. I then added another can of chicken broth, a small can of green chilis & frozen corn. The soup was plenty thick with the corn tortillas. Oh, I also added the jalapenos and cup of tomatoes to the mix, rather than adding it after serving. Great use of leftover turkey! UPDATE: 11/30/2008. I made this soup again tonight (Thanksgiving leftovers again!). I added an entire box of chicken broth, one diced jalapeno, and a can of rotel tomatoes, and left out the half and half. I also added a cup of frozen corn. We topped with sour cream, shredded cheese, and avocado slices. I'm pretty sure the corn tortillas are supposed to be mushy, otherwise the recipe would have you add them just before serving. They serve to thicken the soup and add flavor. My husband and 7 year old had seconds--they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This soup is excellent. You can use leftover turkey or chicken. I fry the tortilla strips and place them on top of the soup to give it an extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This soup is awesome! My daughter-in-law makes a huge pot of it every Christmas and serves it with piping hot cornbread. Heaven in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I thought this soup was very good and hearty. I added a small can of green chiles and some frozen corn too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
My family loved this soup- a great way to use leftover turkey. I added more chicken broth & half & half as it was a little too spicy for me. I also topped with sour cream, shredded cheese & avocado- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I tried this recipe with my leftover Christmas Turkey. Everyone fell in love with this soup even those who don't care for spicy foods! I had so many requests that I had to make it again for New Years Eve. This recipe will definitely be added to my families Holiday Favorites cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
My tortilla pieces got soggy. Something was definitely missing. I didn't like it but my husband did. He'll eat anything though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
We have made this soup several times and it is a hit every time. Extremely easy and very delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States