Turkey Soup with Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
i thought this was a delicious, savory and seasonal fall dish. i had never made anything with parsnips or rutabaga before so it was also sort of exciting. i'm not sure why the recipe didn't actually include turkey itself, but i added that along with some mushrooms and red pepper. also, we had stuff our turkey with rosemary and thyme so i added that to the stock. great soup that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I just made this soup and it is excellent! Very flavorful. I didn't add the orzo as there were already so many vegetables, but I hope to do so next time. I baked the turkey carcass overnight in water first to make the broth stronger-- I don't think 3 hours would have done it. I added the turkey meat when finished, as well as an extra clove of garlic. You can't go wrong with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I love soups & stews in the winter months and this is so good. The rutabaga and parsnip give this just the right hint of sweetness. My teenaged grand daughter, having eaten neither, really liked it as I think this would be excellent using just bullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was quite disappointed with this recipe. It sat wrong in my stomach and I burped it for hours afterwards. It was kinda bland and not at all as good as the other reviewers said. I followed the recipe exactly, other than subbing brown rice for the orzo. We won't make this again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Turkey soup has always been a challenge for me. Mine always came out short on flavor. With this recipe, the homemade stock makes all the difference--well worth the effort. Although the only spices are salt and pepper, the combination of the roasted turkey flavor with the subtle nuance the root vegetables add is wonderful. This was a clear winner with my family too. The nutritional info has to be wrong, though. I can't see where 2,200+ calories per serving is right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ross Shin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Fantastic soup. My favourite soup for turkey leftovers yet!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This broth has great flavor...so good! I will use this recipe everytime I make a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The kids (including the guest kid) each had four servings of this soup, so I'd have to give it a thumbs up. I did add a little tiny bit of chopped meat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Best turkey soup ever!! Subbed white turnip for the rutabaga, and added Bell's seasoning....perfect. And...the picture for this soup makes it look like the broth was very thin...in my case, the broth was dark, rich, and quite a bit thicker....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Thank you for sharing. This was easy to put together and has turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States