Turkey Soup with Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a wonderful soup recipe. I've made it twice and the kids love it, probably because the root vegetables give it a nice sweetness. They ate all the vegetables - no whining or complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I love soup & this is delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
So so...not the way I remember my mom's tasted. Kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Fantastic soup. My favourite soup for turkey leftovers yet!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Best turkey soup ever!! Subbed white turnip for the rutabaga, and added Bell's seasoning....perfect. And...the picture for this soup makes it look like the broth was very thin...in my case, the broth was dark, rich, and quite a bit thicker....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is my first time making Turkey soup with root veggies and I loved it. Using Orzo made it less heavy than regular noodles. it appears as rice but it isn't. My son, who detests rice ate this with seconds and another sneak of thirds. To "Lece" Any time you have a stomach upset to something you ate, it could indicate that you are allergic to certain foods or ingredients. In this case it could be one of the root vegetables. I am allergic to rhubarb so I avoid it and use other food in its place. There are so many other vegetable options you can choose from. I do have to admit though that I did add 1 extra part of chicken stock and it may be the key to more flavor if it appears too bland. It didn't seem to be enough liquid, so in this case more was better! No other "doctoring" was necessary. My family has deemed this a Thanksgiving leftovers MUST! -- The Kitchen Therapist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Thank you for sharing. This was easy to put together and has turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The kids (including the guest kid) each had four servings of this soup, so I'd have to give it a thumbs up. I did add a little tiny bit of chopped meat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was quite disappointed with this recipe. It sat wrong in my stomach and I burped it for hours afterwards. It was kinda bland and not at all as good as the other reviewers said. I followed the recipe exactly, other than subbing brown rice for the orzo. We won't make this again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This broth has great flavor...so good! I will use this recipe everytime I make a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States