Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I added a few squirts of Worcestershire sauce, substituted fresh mushrooms for canned, substituted 2 teaspoons dried parsley for the fresh parsley, added a little greek yogurt to the mashed potatoes, and added a little water to the meat. I cut up the mushrooms really small and finely-grated the carrot, to get the veggies past my kids. I'm giving this 5 stars because my children, who won't eat anything I make, devoured this. I finally found a healthy recipe they will eat, yeah! It fit perfectly in an 8x8 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this dish for family on boxing day. I added some left over turkey gray with the turkey and veg. Everyone loved it, will make it again. I have a friend who is a senior, living alone. I told her about this and she is going to try it with left over chicken, making it in small portions to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Just love this. Always trying to find something for dinner that doesn't have red meat. I used 1 1/2 - 2 cps thawed frozen veggies instead of the carrots and mushrooms and I also put a thin layer of cheese on top, I also did not drain the meat mixture. We never have any leftovers of this when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe was very good. I followed it to the tee- adding the same additions as others. Additional veggies,seasoning to the potatoes and the meat, as well as add the Worchester sauce and water to give moisture. I will make again and this was my first time ever tasting Sheppard's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was excellent! We changed a little to suit our tastes. Used about 6 medium Idaho potatoes, added milk and salted butter to taste until it was thick and creamy. For the meat mixture, we put in 2 carrots, 2 celery ribs, no mushrooms (hubby won't touch em), 1 tsp dried parsley, and about 3 cloves of garlic. Everything else was the same for ingredients. When cooking we also didn't drain the turkey meat once it was cooked because I was afraid of the layer becoming dry. We also covered the potato in a layer of a shredded blend of 4 italian cheeses, and baked for only 20 minutes. Came out DELICIOUS!! We'll definitely repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I browned the ground turkey breast meat in olive oil and seasoning; salt, dried parsely and ground thyme. Add some water and Chicken Better than Broth (or chicken bouillion). Dice carrots, celery and fresh corn and boiled in water with chicken bouillion until fork tenderthen drain and added it to meat mixture. I used pearl onions which I blanched and shocked in ice water to remove the skins then dice-- adding half to the meat mixture then carmelizing the other half in a saute' pan until brown and add to the mashed potatoes. Sautee fresh,sliced mushrooms; then sautee a diced green pepper. Next, sautee minced, fresh garlic adding each sautee batch to the meat mixture. Prepare roux using 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup flour, stirring several minutes. I added a little water then *Chicken Better than Broth and sour cream, stirring until fully incorporated, then add to the meat & vegetable mixture stirring well then put in a greased rectangle pan, put the potato/carmelized onion mixture on top with grated cheddar cheese. After dinner, My daughter in law said it was the best shepherd's pie she had ever had and she wanted the recipe. It would be good with some nice petite green beans, I will try next time! These techniques bring out the flavor in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Only change I made was I added crispy chopped bacon and some shredded cheese to the topping and did not drain the meat mixture... Kept the whole dish nice and juicy!!!! Oh and sour cream to the mashed potatoes! This was absolutely AMAZING!!!!!!! Don't think I will make shephards pie with ground beef again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
added peas and corn to this. Went over well although next time will whip potatoes for prettier presentation. good base- lots of room to improvise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gracebew_u
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
What a wonderful recipe and so adaptable. I think the broth and Worcestershire sauce should be a permanent addition to the recipe since so many recommend it. I did the same and it turned out great - it also masks the turkey flavor and makes it a darker color so it's better (both psychologically and for health reasons) for people who prefer beef. Also, I didn't have fresh veggies on hand so I used 1.5 12oz bags of frozen mixed veggies AFTER browning the meat (corn, green beans, peas @ carrots). My husband said he couldn't believe they were frozen veggies! Makes the recipe even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Tasted great! It looked a little dry but didn't taste dry. Maybe next time I'll add some sour cream to the potatoes. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States