Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was delicious! I put sour cream in the potatoes and used ground turkey and put cheddar cheese on top. It was a hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sokha
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The only thing i did different is adding corn and peas! I love this recipe! Going in the book! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I always have a hard time replacing ground beef with ground turkey but this was really tasty! The only changes I made were adding a layer of frozen corn on top of the meat, but before the potatoes, and eliminating the fresh parsley. I never have parsley around. I forgot to stir in the flour, but it still tasted great. I put it under the broiler for about five minutes before serving, and the top came out nicely brown and a bit crispy. I always boil several cloves of peeled garlic with my potatoes when I plan to mash them. It gives them a much richer, fuller flavour. I served it with fresh-from-the-garden green beans in a garlic-butter-and-lemon sauce. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Very tasty. Added chunks of zucchini and added a half can of cream of mushroon soup in lieu of the flour. Topped with leftover mashed potatoes and french fried onion crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LostInFL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrettsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I added a few squirts of Worcestershire sauce, substituted fresh mushrooms for canned, substituted 2 teaspoons dried parsley for the fresh parsley, added a little greek yogurt to the mashed potatoes, and added a little water to the meat. I cut up the mushrooms really small and finely-grated the carrot, to get the veggies past my kids. I'm giving this 5 stars because my children, who won't eat anything I make, devoured this. I finally found a healthy recipe they will eat, yeah! It fit perfectly in an 8x8 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this dish for family on boxing day. I added some left over turkey gray with the turkey and veg. Everyone loved it, will make it again. I have a friend who is a senior, living alone. I told her about this and she is going to try it with left over chicken, making it in small portions to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Just love this. Always trying to find something for dinner that doesn't have red meat. I used 1 1/2 - 2 cps thawed frozen veggies instead of the carrots and mushrooms and I also put a thin layer of cheese on top, I also did not drain the meat mixture. We never have any leftovers of this when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe was very good. I followed it to the tee- adding the same additions as others. Additional veggies,seasoning to the potatoes and the meat, as well as add the Worchester sauce and water to give moisture. I will make again and this was my first time ever tasting Sheppard's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was excellent! We changed a little to suit our tastes. Used about 6 medium Idaho potatoes, added milk and salted butter to taste until it was thick and creamy. For the meat mixture, we put in 2 carrots, 2 celery ribs, no mushrooms (hubby won't touch em), 1 tsp dried parsley, and about 3 cloves of garlic. Everything else was the same for ingredients. When cooking we also didn't drain the turkey meat once it was cooked because I was afraid of the layer becoming dry. We also covered the potato in a layer of a shredded blend of 4 italian cheeses, and baked for only 20 minutes. Came out DELICIOUS!! We'll definitely repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I browned the ground turkey breast meat in olive oil and seasoning; salt, dried parsely and ground thyme. Add some water and Chicken Better than Broth (or chicken bouillion). Dice carrots, celery and fresh corn and boiled in water with chicken bouillion until fork tenderthen drain and added it to meat mixture. I used pearl onions which I blanched and shocked in ice water to remove the skins then dice-- adding half to the meat mixture then carmelizing the other half in a saute' pan until brown and add to the mashed potatoes. Sautee fresh,sliced mushrooms; then sautee a diced green pepper. Next, sautee minced, fresh garlic adding each sautee batch to the meat mixture. Prepare roux using 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup flour, stirring several minutes. I added a little water then *Chicken Better than Broth and sour cream, stirring until fully incorporated, then add to the meat & vegetable mixture stirring well then put in a greased rectangle pan, put the potato/carmelized onion mixture on top with grated cheddar cheese. After dinner, My daughter in law said it was the best shepherd's pie she had ever had and she wanted the recipe. It would be good with some nice petite green beans, I will try next time! These techniques bring out the flavor in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States