Turkey Pumpkin Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Opps - my bad. While I'm sure this is a wonderful receipe, I click on the wrong recipe to review. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is one of our favorite recipes now. I have made it as is and it turned out great. I have also modified it other times to reduce the sodium in it and this also has turned out very good. I have used chili powder and red pepper instead of the taco seasoning. I also have eliminated the chicken bouillon granules. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very, very good! I used a fresh winter squash in place of canned pumpkin and about 5 chipotles because it didn't taste very hot when blended, but after it was cooked it was HOT! I also used 3 Swanson Flavor boost chicken broth packets in place of bouillon because I am sensitive to MSG. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was so good. I added some fresh spinach to the filling and left out the boullion. The only change I'd make next time would be the beans. The filling was very soft and I'd prefer a bit of texture, so I'll use a can of whole black beans and smash up half of them, leaving some of them whole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The sauce was good. At least twice as much pumpkin as need. Most of the cheese should have been wrapped up in the enchilada and not on top as it browned too much. I'll make the sauce again but not the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I really tweaked this recipe because it was the night before grocery shopping and I made do with what I had. That being said, this was the perfect recipe to sub in what I did have and I'd love to actually try the real thing lol. I used cubed up chicken instead of turkey. I only had a small can of pumpkin and like 5 tortillas. Black beans instead of refried. I decided to make this into a casserole instead. I shredded the tortillas on the bottom, added the meat mixture, then a layer of the tomato mixture, then a layer of cheese. I did it all again, except I used the last of a bag of black bean tortilla chips in place of tortillas. It came out sooooo delicious. I learned recently from a cookbook to take my can of chipotle peppers and blend it all up really well. Then save it in a container in the fridge. You can take it out a Tbs or tsp at a time. I used a Tbs and it was nice and smoky with a little heat. Use more for more heat. Can't wait to try this as enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
These were delicious! Wouldn't change a thing although I used chicken in place of turkey as I find turkey very dry. Served with Corny Mexican Salad also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this recipe pretty much as described except that I subbed soy crumbles for the turkey and used black bean in place of refried (read another review regarding the texture). I added a LOT more chipotle, as like things extra spicy. It turned out absolutely delicious. My boyfriend said he liked this even more than my regular enchilada recipe, so this one will definitely be in the new rotation!!! Definite must try for pumpkin lovers. Very healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
We loved it; in fact so much so I made it for mid day meal and finished the leftovers in the evening. The only change was that I didn't have the pepper in adobo sauce. To substitute, I used a can of Ro-Tel and used a little less tomato sauce. The filling was superb; wouldn't change a thing there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This Was Amazing, It's Like Fall In An Enchilada!! i Did Add A Little Ginger, nutmeg, and i barely sprinkled some cinnamon in the pumpkin mix. the turkey was left over from thanksgiving but it was an oven ready turkey breast that was already flavored. it just turned out AWESOME. I didn't make the sauce they wanted me to, i just used a can of enchilada sauce. i added cheese to the inside of each of them and on top i added a little sharp white cheddar. this recipe is totally going in my cook book to make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States