Turkey Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This recipe was excellent! I gave it five stars because the taste was great and it was SO quick and easy to make (with the help of my food processor). I do have some qualms with the recipe though. First 4 cups is NOT 4 servings if you're using instant mashed potatoes, if you only make 4 servings you won't have enough to top the casserole (learned this the hard way). My next potato problem is the mixing in of the cubed cheese, this makes it awful hard to spread on the casserole and is completely unnecessary: you'll lose nothing if you simply sprinkle the cubed cheese on after you spoon on the potatoes. As far as alterations go, I doubled the onion and added a good amount of crushed garlic (to the potatoes) to prevent the blandness other reviews ran into. A nice sprinkling of paprika might make an attractive and tasty addition too. All and all, this was fast and delicious! I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a good use of leftovers and a nice comfort meal. I used a layer of stuffing as my base, then added the turkey and topped that with frozen green beans. Soup went on top, but I think that next time I would thin the soup with some milk to make it more spreadable. Used about half the amounts of cheese called for; felt a full pound of cheese would just be overpowering. Topped the mashed potatos with french fried onions as there is no way that raw onions are going to cook in the casserole in 30-40 minutes and would be too sharp/overpowering. The fried onions made for a nice crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Made this after Thanksgiving, and our guests loved this. I also used a can of mushrooms in it. One thing I would change; As everything else in it was already "cooked" basically, the onions had a very strong almost raw flavor, as it was only heated for 30 minutes. I would lightly saute' them before adding them in the next time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
We really liked this recipe. I was using leftover turkey which was REALLY dry, so I mixed it with about 1 cup of chicken broth and some sauteed shallots. I then put a layer of corn on top of the turkey mixed, followed by cheese and cream of chicken soup. I then used a layer of mashed potatoes, sprinkled with more cheese and a little butter and parm to make it crusty on top. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This was a really good Shepard's pie casserole that used turkey in place of beef. It was very good will be making this again in the future. I put the green beans in between the shredded cheese and potato mixture. It stills needs something either garlic or a dash of hot pepper sauce. But very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
In my case, it was a layer of leftover turkey, topped by freshly sauteed onions, topped with leftover green bean casserole, then a layer of cream of mushroom soup (which I stirred with some leftover chicken soup stock and some of the mashed potatoes) before topping with the last of the leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is definitely a keeper! In the interest of cutting fat, I omitted the cubed cheddar cheese and mixed half of the shredded cheddar into the potatoes. I suggest chopping the onion fairly fine to insure that it is cooked in the 30-40 minutes. Anyway, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I made this with leftover roasted chicken. I topped the chicken with the rest of the green bean casserole I had made and instead of soup, I poured in my leftover gravy. Didn't have any cheddar on hand, so I topped the potatoes with grated parm and sprinkled with paprika. Yum Peggikaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is EXCELLENT !! I substituded green bean to frozen vegetable. This recipe is easy to make and taste is GOOD.All my family loved it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aida Huft

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this last night it was awesome. I substituted the mushroom soup with cream of chicken soup and left out the onion for the 2 year old but it was so cheesy and creamy. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States