Turkey Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a good use of leftovers and a nice comfort meal. I used a layer of stuffing as my base, then added the turkey and topped that with frozen green beans. Soup went on top, but I think that next time I would thin the soup with some milk to make it more spreadable. Used about half the amounts of cheese called for; felt a full pound of cheese would just be overpowering. Topped the mashed potatos with french fried onions as there is no way that raw onions are going to cook in the casserole in 30-40 minutes and would be too sharp/overpowering. The fried onions made for a nice crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
In my husband's words: "It's a keeper". The entire family loved it. What a great way to use up the leftovers from a turkey dinner. I followed a couple of suggestions and mixed some gravy in with the turkey. I also minced the onion so it would cook better. I used frozen beans, cooking them slightly before adding them to the casserole. I mixed about 1/4 cup milk with the cream of mushroom soup so it would spread easier. I added some garlic powder (about 1/2 tsp.) to the top of the beans. Finally, I used less cheese, mixing about 8 oz. total shredded cheese into the potatoes. I cooked it over about an hour and everything was done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I loved this recipe. My whole family did to. I only changed one thing and that is I bought betty crocker flavored three cheese mashed potatos made both packs and toped the Casserole with that instead of bothering with the cheese wich makes it hard to mix. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of two boys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a great family recipe and is quick and simple when you are in a hurry and still want a healthy meal for your family and when adding alot of the suggestions from the others, makes it a great and tasty meal for any family as well as healthy. Thanks It will definatly be a reg. in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie_gurl_luvinmafamily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
In my case, it was a layer of leftover turkey, topped by freshly sauteed onions, topped with leftover green bean casserole, then a layer of cream of mushroom soup (which I stirred with some leftover chicken soup stock and some of the mashed potatoes) before topping with the last of the leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is EXCELLENT !! I substituded green bean to frozen vegetable. This recipe is easy to make and taste is GOOD.All my family loved it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aida Huft

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I mixed a few Tbs of gravy in with the turkey before layering. This was a great way to use up leftovers, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Was Great! Easy prep and thro in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
We really liked this recipe. I was using leftover turkey which was REALLY dry, so I mixed it with about 1 cup of chicken broth and some sauteed shallots. I then put a layer of corn on top of the turkey mixed, followed by cheese and cream of chicken soup. I then used a layer of mashed potatoes, sprinkled with more cheese and a little butter and parm to make it crusty on top. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is definitely a keeper! In the interest of cutting fat, I omitted the cubed cheddar cheese and mixed half of the shredded cheddar into the potatoes. I suggest chopping the onion fairly fine to insure that it is cooked in the 30-40 minutes. Anyway, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States