Turkey Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Pretty good way to use the leftovers. As like others, I used my green bean casserole leftovers in lieu of beans and onions, but I also added a can of soup and a small can of musrooms, everything else as per this recipe. It was enjoyed by all. Will definately make again with whatever leftovers are around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I did change it a little also. My family won't eat mushrooms,so I used cream of chicken soup.I also use mozzarella cheese since my daughter and I get migraines from cheddar cheese.I do the same for tettrazeini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belding, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orleans, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe is great! My husband made it the day after thanksgiving with the leftovers. Nice and creamy and the onion gave it a nice crunch. I don't have canned veggies so used the beans we had left over as well. This is a keeper and will make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
It was really, really good! I used about 1/2 the cheese called for (16 oz just sounded like a lot). I also did a "crust" layer w/stuffing, poured the extra gravy over it, and then used cream of chicken rather than cream of mushroom b/c we didn't have it on hand. It was quite tasty, my guests loved it, and it was a GREAT way to use up leftovers!! I'll definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNPATEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Wow!! This was really good. I followed some of the other suggestions, and put leftover stuffing on the bottom. I didn't use as much cheese, and I used the fried onions that we didn't use on the green bean casserole to go on top. I really liked this, and so did my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
For such a simple 'leftovers' casserole, we all enjoyed this! I didn't layer anything, just mixed the onions and green beans right in with the turkey and soup. Per other reviews, I did microwave the chopped onions for a minute to soften a bit. I used what was left in a package of shredded cheddar and sprinkled that on top, then topped that with some American cheese slices since that was all I had. Threw it all together in 5 minutes, headed out to the barn and came back an hour later to a scrumptious, bubbly comfort-food casserole. Oh, I used leftover mashed sweet potatoes, (no marshmallows, yuk!) that had a pecan, brown sugar topping and it was soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is exactly the kind of comforting casserole I was looking for! I will be using garlic flavored mushroom soup to "soup" up the blandness some and cheddar flavored mashed potatoes to make it even easier. Can't wait to serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvickyway

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this recipe with only one change. I switched from the green beans to peas but made no other substitutions. For the life of me and my family we could not imagine how this rated an allover 4 1/2 stars. It was like eating an extremely bad version of shephard's pie. I don't know if was the mushroom soup (which did not provide much flavor) or the fact that turkey does not have a strong enough flavor to carry the dish but the ingredients just did not meld together. Sorry folks but this just isn't worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I think it would taste great but about 1/12 lbs of Cheddar Cheese, that's a very expensive meal here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I did this with chicken and Potato Buds. I thought it was good, but wonder if Velveta would have melted better in the potatoes. I would like to try the real left over version...with the homemade green beans instead of canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Allard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States