Turkey Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
It was really, really good! I used about 1/2 the cheese called for (16 oz just sounded like a lot). I also did a "crust" layer w/stuffing, poured the extra gravy over it, and then used cream of chicken rather than cream of mushroom b/c we didn't have it on hand. It was quite tasty, my guests loved it, and it was a GREAT way to use up leftovers!! I'll definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNPATEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Wow!! This was really good. I followed some of the other suggestions, and put leftover stuffing on the bottom. I didn't use as much cheese, and I used the fried onions that we didn't use on the green bean casserole to go on top. I really liked this, and so did my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
For such a simple 'leftovers' casserole, we all enjoyed this! I didn't layer anything, just mixed the onions and green beans right in with the turkey and soup. Per other reviews, I did microwave the chopped onions for a minute to soften a bit. I used what was left in a package of shredded cheddar and sprinkled that on top, then topped that with some American cheese slices since that was all I had. Threw it all together in 5 minutes, headed out to the barn and came back an hour later to a scrumptious, bubbly comfort-food casserole. Oh, I used leftover mashed sweet potatoes, (no marshmallows, yuk!) that had a pecan, brown sugar topping and it was soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is exactly the kind of comforting casserole I was looking for! I will be using garlic flavored mushroom soup to "soup" up the blandness some and cheddar flavored mashed potatoes to make it even easier. Can't wait to serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvickyway

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this recipe with only one change. I switched from the green beans to peas but made no other substitutions. For the life of me and my family we could not imagine how this rated an allover 4 1/2 stars. It was like eating an extremely bad version of shephard's pie. I don't know if was the mushroom soup (which did not provide much flavor) or the fact that turkey does not have a strong enough flavor to carry the dish but the ingredients just did not meld together. Sorry folks but this just isn't worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I think it would taste great but about 1/12 lbs of Cheddar Cheese, that's a very expensive meal here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I did this with chicken and Potato Buds. I thought it was good, but wonder if Velveta would have melted better in the potatoes. I would like to try the real left over version...with the homemade green beans instead of canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Allard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I'm a novice cook, but this turned out devine! This recipe rocks. We had some frozen turkey meat from a couple months ago and I used the "Traditional mashed potatoes" recipe from this site. I substituted broccoli and cauliflower for the green beans. Broccoli and cauliflower with a layer of grated cheddar cheese, come on...a trio made in heaven. Personally, I loved the cubed cheese mixed into the mashed potato. I also caramelized the onions for my two year old, but my husband loved this little change. Finally, I made gravy from a package and there you have it---a new family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a good use of leftovers and a nice comfort meal. I used a layer of stuffing as my base, then added the turkey and topped that with frozen green beans. Soup went on top, but I think that next time I would thin the soup with some milk to make it more spreadable. Used about half the amounts of cheese called for; felt a full pound of cheese would just be overpowering. Topped the mashed potatos with french fried onions as there is no way that raw onions are going to cook in the casserole in 30-40 minutes and would be too sharp/overpowering. The fried onions made for a nice crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
In my husband's words: "It's a keeper". The entire family loved it. What a great way to use up the leftovers from a turkey dinner. I followed a couple of suggestions and mixed some gravy in with the turkey. I also minced the onion so it would cook better. I used frozen beans, cooking them slightly before adding them to the casserole. I mixed about 1/4 cup milk with the cream of mushroom soup so it would spread easier. I added some garlic powder (about 1/2 tsp.) to the top of the beans. Finally, I used less cheese, mixing about 8 oz. total shredded cheese into the potatoes. I cooked it over about an hour and everything was done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States