Turkey Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This was VERY good! I was concerned that it would taste like cream of chicken soup, but it didn't at all. I made a few substitutions and additions that I think made it even better. I substituted 2t. minced, dried onion for the fresh (which reduced liquid content slightly) and 1c. evap. milk for 1/2c. milk. I think this made it creamier but not runny. I added 1t. chicken boullion granules, some pepper, and 1/2t. of each of the following spices: poultry seasoning, paprika, dried parsley, and garlic powder. My husband put it together, and he cut out small gingerbread shapes from the extra pie dough and put them on top of the top crust to entice the kids to eat. The refrigerated pie crusts are MUCH better than the frozen, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is my favorite pot pie recipe. It's so simple. We've made this for years, it works equally well with chicken or beef (just change to cream of mushroom soup, and add a little beef base). My kids, who are very picky love it. I just have to say, when you change a recipe completely, before trying it as written, how in the world can you honestly give it a review??? I love this website, but the reviews drive me nuts, lol. Changing a few small things, because you didn't have something on hand is one thing, but to change the entire recipe, turn it into a mashed potato casserole, then call yourself reviewing a turkey pot pie?? I'm sorry, vent over:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I was in a hurry this morning to get something made that is easy enough for my husband to finish since he gets home before I do. After glancing over the other ratings, I could see this is a very versatile recipe. I omitted the onions, added dried minced onions, garlic salt, oregano, lots of freshly goudn pepper, and substituted cream of chicken for cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. I used the refridgerated pie crusts, the mixed veggies from Costco's freezer section, and extra turkey from Thanksgiving's fried bird. Left it in the fridge all day for my husband to bake when he got home, and I came home to a delicious and tremendously easy dinner. This is definitely going into our winter dinner rotation. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
My family loved this recipe. Keep in mind my 13 year old normally hates any kind of pie, including fruit pies. He ate two pieces of this. I made the following modifications: instead of frozen mixed veggies I used freshly cut carrots, celery and diced potatoes. I didn't saute the onion first--just threw it in. I put the turkey & veggies in, mixed the soup & milk together and poured that over the turkey & veggies. I used store bought refrigerated pie crusts to make it super easy. I also used an egg wash on the crust to make it nice and golden brown. I plan to use this recipe on a regular basis. Delicious homemade pot pie! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. Not only was it easy as 1-2-3 to make, but what a GREAT way to use all the Holiday Turkey leftovers! I changed it up a bit adding whatever spices sounded good. I didn't have frozen veggies so I just popped open a couple cans of different veggies from my pantry; which actually gave me enough to make two pies - which is good because one pie was not enough. My family loved it and went back for 2nds and 3rd helpings. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I doubled this recipe to have one for the freezer and I'm so glad I did! This turned out great with leftover rotisserie chicken instead of turkey. I used broccoli, carrots & cauliflower mixed veggies, then added a bit of frozen corn too. After sauting the onions I added the milk to the pan, and I added 2 bouillion cubes as another reviewer had noted it needed more flavor. I used the Pillsbury pie crusts. Outstanding, my husband loves pot pies & I never wanted to make one - this was super easy and delicious! I'm sure this will be a cold-weather favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe for kids. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because I wasn't able to follow to a T. I left out the onions because I'm the only one who likes them. And I didn't have pie crust, so I melted a little butter and mixed with plain bread crumbs and sprinkled it over the top. My family loved it. My 5 1/2 yr old had 2nds and is asking for leftovers today! Couldn't ask for anything better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I'm almost starting to prefer the Boxing Day turkey pot pie more than the roast turkey on Christmas Day. I make this with fresh veggies - carrots, celery, potato, green beans/peas - and this year I ended up adding some leftover turkey gravy to the mix. It needs a lil freshly ground pepper and a wee shake of garlic powder, and it turns out really good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My only modification to this tasty dish was to add celery to the onion , season same with celery salt, and to use table cream instead of milk. Following other suggestions, I per-baked the pie crust. My husband was wild for this delicious and easy to make dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is a great basic recipe. I made a couple of substitutions, based on my leftovers. Instead of the frozen mixed vegetables, I used leftover cooked whole green beans with browned mushrooms and instead of the pie crust, I spread the mixture into a greased casserole and topped with a layer of leftover Make-ahead Mashed Potatoes (recipe also on this website). The results were excellent and everyone asked for more. Easy, economical, versatile and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States