Turkey Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I have been making pot pies like this since the beginning of time and it is a quick way to use left over chicken, turkey or roast beef. I sometimes use cream of mushroom soup or celery.Always good and I agree with some of the others. When you add this or that and the other then review it you are reviewing your own recipe not the one that is given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is a good "start" but needs more spices to suit me. Overall....too bland and boring for us. I added for spices: 1/2 tsp each of salt and pepper and 1 tsp poulty seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is a pretty good basic recipe, but it needs to be upped a notch according to individual preferences. First, we almost never have turkey left over (that's not devoured in turkey salad sandwiches the next day). So, I usually throw a couple of chicken legs and a breast filet in a pot to boil until done. I remove the chicken from the water and add my fresh veggies...lots of celery. They cook until tender in the broth while I shred and debone the chicken. This sounds like a lot, but it really isn't, and it will make the difference between a good pie and a great one. After that, I just thicken the broth with all the veggies and chicken in it with a mixture of two heaping tablespoons of flour and a cup of water. If you don't mind the chicken soup, you can use a slotted spoon to remove the chicken and veggies from the broth and add the soup to the chicken/veggie mixture in a prepared (sprayed) casserole dish. My husband loves crescent rolls, so that is the top I put onto my pie. I prefer the prepared pie crust, but...you know how that goes...:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
We had turkey last week and I froze enough for a pie, checked this one out but it sounds a little too anaemic so I will add some lightly cooked celery, onion, poultry seasoning, white pepper,and a dash of sage, marjoram and thyme, canned gravy(no msg like canned soup)then brush the top crust with egg white and water for that lovely browned finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is my favorite pot pie recipe. It's so simple. We've made this for years, it works equally well with chicken or beef (just change to cream of mushroom soup, and add a little beef base). My kids, who are very picky love it. I just have to say, when you change a recipe completely, before trying it as written, how in the world can you honestly give it a review??? I love this website, but the reviews drive me nuts, lol. Changing a few small things, because you didn't have something on hand is one thing, but to change the entire recipe, turn it into a mashed potato casserole, then call yourself reviewing a turkey pot pie?? I'm sorry, vent over:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
My mom has made this recipe for years. This recipe needs a little "punch," Try adding a teaspoon of ground sage and some freshly ground black pepper. That would make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is a good Basic recipe, but very boring!.... making your own sauce is really easy and using some herbs really kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe. Made my own pie crust and coated the pie pan with butter flavored shortening. Used soy milk instead of regular milk and added some additional spices (a few dashes of cayenne, rosemary and thyme). Also sauteed garlic with the onion (I can never have a dish without garlic!) Add a bit a flour for thickness and extra turkey and veggies. Fantastic! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza Crespin Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this recipe was quick and easy to make and it was absolutley deliciouse. family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Great homemade taste. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States