Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My mouth was watering to try this recipie and as it cooked and baked it looked delicious but when I served it the crust was a disaster, the only way I can describe it was glue. The only explaination I could think of was my filling was boiling when I poured it in the crust and topped it. So I made another one (I think a failed recipie is a challenge and I keep trying to prove I can do it!) and this time let the filling cool before filling the crust and it turned out Perfect! My husband loved it and the kids at least picked out the turkey, no vegatables for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
956 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Crust is the key thing in this recipe. I've made it twice with 2 different store-bought crusts and one time it was amazing, the next time it was disgusting. I'll stick with the refrigerated crusts that come folded up. The filling is fabulous and doesn't come out super runny like I expected. Will make this every time I have leftovers to use up, whether it's turkey, chicken, or roast. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
A delicious recipe for leftover turkey. I didn't feel like making another pie crust, so I greased the bottom of my pan and used leftover stuffing as a topping. It was great! My child and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
My husband is extremely picky about his pot pies and he LOVED this so much he asked me to make it again with beef tonight. I made a few changes. I used the onion and the celery but for the rest of the veggies I used half a bag of frozen corn, peas, carrots, and string beans. I only used one boullion cube and 1 cup of water. I cubed the potatoes pretty small and after the veggies and potatoes were cooked I added a jar of Homestyle turkey gravy. I also used about 2 cups of cubed turkey. I baked the bottom crust for 10 minutes while the filling was cooling and then covered with the top crust. I sprayed the top crust with butter cooking spray to give it a little more color. It came out perfect. My husband ate almost half the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This turned out really well and is a great use for that leftover dark meat that never tastes as good reheated. I followed another reviewers advice and used leftover stuffing as the top crust and it turned out beautifully. I also used leftover turkey broth instead of the chicken boullion. I was a little hesitant about the spices, but the flavor was good. I may use a little less parsley next time just for looks and add a little poultry seasoning for a little extra "turkey" flavor. One warning, though. This makes a BIG pot pie. The recipe calls for a 10 inch pie pan (which I don't have) so I used a medium casserole dish and it still filled to the brim and spilled over a little while cooking. Just be sure to put some foil under the dish to catch spills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Good flavor but no sauce to speak of which brought gripes from my boyfriend, we had leftovers plus extra filling so last night I carefully scooped out the filling from the leftover pie into a large sauce pot, added the extra filling I had set aside and stirred in a can of family sized Campbell's cream of chicken soup (w/enough milk to bring the whole lot to the right consistency) heated it through and served it over the warmed pie crust -that did the trick - it was delicious and tasted even better than the pies from the famous Chicken Pie Shop of San Diego. Definitely add the soup - it makes this recipe perfect and earns it that 5th star. I also used the flaky butter crust, it was a perfect compliment and had the best flavor of any crust I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
First I want to say thank you to the original poster and that I loved the flavor of this recipe so much I wanted to make it again but with a few important changes. As stated by some others, this pot pie has no sauce to it and that’s a must for me. So I exchanged milk for cream and doubled the quantity to 1 cup. There is no measurement for potato in the recipe, and it needs it. The first time I used 3 small russets and it was far too much so I changed that to 1.5 cup cubed potato. I used turkey stock from the boiled turkey carcass and it made a noticeable improvement. I increased the amount of turkey from 1.5 cups to 2.5 cups and slightly increased the amount of flour to 4 Tbs. I also used torn pieces of turkey instead of cubed but that’s just a personal preference and shouldn’t affect the flavor. With these modifications the result was a perfect pot pie with a creamy sauce and great flavor. You may wish to slightly increase the seasoning to compensate for the additional turkey. Pre-baking the bottom crust for 5-6 minutes is a must as the filling is now more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Best pot pie I have ever had! I used two tsps of chicken base instead of bouillion cubes. And then I added about another cup (maybe less) of water & another 1/2 tsp of chicken base so there would be more gravy. I did add some frozen peas but I did not add any salt because my turkey was well seasoned .... & I didn't add the spices until I added the turkey because I didn't want to cook all the flavor out. Used a homemade pie crust...YUMMY! Thansk Linda!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was great. I had a 14-pounder in my freezer and it was time to cook it. After deboning, it yielded 10 cups of juicy turkey. I tripled this recipe (for freezing) and used 3+ cups of turkey in each. Oherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It was perfect. The only thing I would try for a change is to add a packet of turkey gravy and an additional cup of water to the pie filling (per pie). I like the taste of turkey gravy and I like it to taste like turkey, not chicken. If you're going to make turkey pot pie, this is the one to try. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I have made this recipe several times now, and it is always great every time. It turns out less runny if you let the filling cool before putting it in the pie shell. It is also yummy with chicken. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States