Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I love this recipe!! I have made it as a pie countless times and have recently even started making the filling as a stew type meal served over rice. DELICIOUS! My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Absolutely love this! Should have cooked a little longer to get the sauce to thicken more but the taste is simply wonderful. I used a pound of ground turkey instead as I didn't have a cup of turkey lying around in the fridge. Great comfort food material.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was sooo good! I added one pkg frozen corn and I tsp poultry seasoning. I also used a 13X9 baking dish and made a homemade buttermilk biscuit mix for the topping instead of another pie crust. Also used the egg wash. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelamae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Manuel, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I liked it, my two non-vegetarians liked it. Success. My husband was not home so no opinion from him. Good flavors, crust was fine. Pretty much followed recipe to a T except that I was out of oregano, so I substituted Italian season instead. I will definitely make this again, as it is a good way to use up leftover turkey. I'm used to a little more gravy in my pot pies, but it could have been that it took me too long doing other things that I reduced the vegies and broth too much. This is the only reason I gave it 4 and not 5 stars...would give it 4.5 if I could. It was almost more like a pasty than a pot pie. May experiment a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wow! If you use allrecipes' "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" with this recipe you won't be disappointed. I have tried multiple variations - my favorite is to substitute the red sweet potatoes for normal potatoes (makes it more colorful and tasty) as well as add carrots. I also make my own turkey stock, so I prefer to use 2 cups of homemade turkey stock in place of the chicken boullion and water. My boyfriend can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made it a year ago. Now its a family favorite. Even my friends request it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This is the first review I've written. I wanted to make my husband a turkey pot pie using my mom's leftover turkey from Christmas. I had never even eaten a pot pie before, let alone make one! He came home as I was cooking the ingredients in the pot and said it smelled so good....he wanted to eat it straight from the pot. I substituted frozen peas for the celery (I don't care for celery), used two potatoes instead of three, skipped the parsley, and added some poultry seasoning. I also used a store bought crust to make it simple, and a packet of turkey gravy to pour on top. He said it was "fancier" than the one his mother makes...and it was his favorite thing I've made for him! I even liked it! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
My picky family LOVED this! My hubby and 10 yr. old wanted thirds! Great recipe! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rschenau
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made my own pie crust and used chicken and chicken broth instead of boullion. I followed the recipe exactly and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MGLVR
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great recipe "as is." Have made this several times, and find that it is enough to fill two eight-inch disposable pie pans. I use the pilsbury "rolled-up" crusts, and find that they work well. I DO let the mixture cool for 1-2 hours before assembling, and I also bake the lower crust for 8-10 min at 425 before adding the mixture. I cover the edjes of the crust with foil, and remove 10 min before the end of cooking. This helps to prevent them from being overcooked. Great with peas or corn added as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGLVR

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States