Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. We made this with some left over thanksgiving turkey meat and it was incredible. Whole family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very, very simple made with common ingredients found in most home kitchens! Followed the recipe exactly, except that I added a 4oz jar of diced pimentos right before pouring the filling into the pie shell. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Nothing wrong with this recipe. I omitted potatoes (for the lack of) and added mushrooms and peas to take their place. I only had one pie crust, so I used it on top. Filling WAS NOT WATERY. It was thick and seasonings did not overpower. This was fun to make with my 3 year old too. Zero leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Rios Morrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
We made a turkey that had been in our freezer since last Thanksgiving. My husband gets a free turkey every Thanksgiving from work, and since we never do Thanksgiving at our house, every October we make turkey to make room in the freezer for the next one. This weekend we made our turkey and now we had to figure out creative ways to use the leftovers. This was dinner last night, and the first homemade pot pie I attempted (the crust was store bought). My family loved this. My husband ate half the pie. I had to make some adjustments based on what I had on hand. 1. I had a 9 in. pie crust and pie pan so I reduced the ingredients. For step 2 in the original recipe, I used 1 carrot, 1 celery, 2 small potatoes, 1 1/4 cup of turkey, and 1 cup of water. 2. I heated the vegetables in olive oil instead of butter in an attempt to make it healthier. 3. I added fresh minced garlic in with the potatoes. 4. I don't buy chicken bullion cubs so I added 1-2 tbs. of homemade leftover turkey gravy (made from the turkey drippings) to the 1 cup of water. 5. I replaced the oregano and parsley with 2 1/2 tsp. of Ms. Dash table blend. 6. In step 3 from the original recipe, I didn't use flour and butter because I had leftover turkey gravy. I heated 1 cup of leftover turkey gravy and 1/4 - 1/3 of milk with the turkey. 7. I had some left over cooked mixed vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, corn and pimento) that I added at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I used a frozen pie crust, but the filling was amazing! Even changing up some of the ingredients (like using corn) didn't make it fail. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Let me say straight away that I modified this recipe quite a bit out of necessity, but the general recipe itself is a good one and we were all very pleased with our pot pie. THe changes I made were: A single crust which served as a topper (no soggy bottom crust!), more carrots and celery and fewer potatoes, one T. fresh +1/2 tsp dried thyme (personal preference over oregano), and 2 tsp. jarred chicken broth base instead of bouillon. Using only one crust simplifies the recipe. Just dump the filling into a shallow dish (mine was an oval but a 10" deep pie plate would be fine) and top it with your rolled out single-crust. I just crimped it around the edge and cut a few slits on top. This is a fine family meal. Four servings if you've got hungry teenagers and a big husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Excellent as is. Next time I'm going to try adding peas and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Quite good.Next time i'll add a little more broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Very easy and very good. I let it cook down a bit too much or should use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
whoa this is so good! So much flavour,pretty good for my first attempt at a pot pie, thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 740) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States