Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by htakle
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is a real pic! This recipe came out looking fantastic and tasted even better. The key to the look and the flaky crust was the brushed egg on top like other reviewers suggested with the refrigerated pillsbury brand pie shells that you roll out. I also prebaked the bottom crust a bit which seemed OK except the sides folded in on me. We substituted some other vegetables, broccoli and mushrooms, because we had no carrots, and those were great too. We were very happy not to have some cream of soup added because the more meat and vegetables the better! This recipe didn't need any of that goop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I tweaked this slightly with others' suggestions. I added an entire 10oz can of condensed cream of mushroom soup because it really was too runny. once the rest thickened up, it was perfect. I didn't add the extra milk like someone suggested because I thought it tasted fine and I didn't want to change the consistency. There were WAY too much veggies in this and I had to toss 1/4 of each in a salad just to not be wasteful. I used two small celery ribs (a good amount) and only had longer carrots but i think one big one would have been fine. I should have imagined what would fit into a pie dish before chopping. 2 small potatoes would have been fine instead of 3. because of the extra soup, I could have added extra flour and 1/2 cup of milk to thicken it and make two pies but only had one dish and prepared crust available. So I made some rice to top this off with and used it for lunch the next day. will use a home made crust next time. baking the bottom crust first for 8 mins really helps with not having the filling become too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We really liked this recipe, but after looking through the reviews made some initial changes. We only used one cup of broth, left out the oregano/parsley (none around) and eyeballed how much veggies would fit (slightly less than the amount suggested above, probably 2:1 to meat). After adding the meat mixture we also put the 11oz can condensed chicken soup. We let the mixture cool down for about 20 minutes and then popped it in the oven. We were only searching for a way to use up thanksgiving leftovers, but my husband was so enamored I'm sure this will come out again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great for leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Made no changes and my whole family said this recipe is a keeper! However I think I will add a little more milk next time it was a little dry but had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a great recipe, I used it twice in one week. I had cooked potatoes which i chopped small andI added them for a short period, I also added my stuffing and corn, My son doesn't like Turkey but ate 1/2 the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this recipe last night with left over Thanksgiving turkey, it was wonderful. The only change that I made was to use Swanson's chicken flavor booster instead of bullion cubes. I used Molly's perfect pie crust recipe and it was awesome also! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowcountryJudi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a wonderful pot pie. No one in my family is super fond of pot pies, but all went back for seconds when I presented this one. Next time, I would lightly grease the pan to prevent the crust from sticking and cook the potatoes with the carrots and celery...they were still a bid crunchy at meal time. My addition to this recipe was 6 cloves of garlic and chicken base instead of bouillon cubes. Excellent flavor and very little cream sauce which makes it "meaty."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is one amazing recipe! I made it to the "T" the first time. The second time I made it, I followed almost everything. I didn't have onions, so I used a leek instead, fresh parsley, and garlic. It was just as delicious! This is my go to recipe for chicken pot pie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I should start off by stating that I made some changes. I added more seasonings (thyme, sage, paprika, etc), 2 cloves of minced garlic, subbed broth for water and bouillon, used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk (had some I needed to use up) and increased that amount to 1 cup. Made a home made crust. End result was extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this last. I wanted to use up left over Thanksgiving turkey. It was fantastic. My husband thought it was delicious. I used 2 cups cubed turkey meat and added a can of cream of chicken soup. I also used a pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. This is a keeper for sure. I'm sure it would be great with chicken too. I had to give it four stars just because I added the soup and extra chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Miller Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States