Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
its good, tasty and will make your family love family dinners again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
As many reviewers have already stated, you may add or adjust seasonings and ingredients to your taste. However, the basis of this recipe is delicious! I had reservations about so much parsley but went ahead and used the amount listed in the recipe. I also added about 1/4 tsp poultry seasoning, 1/2 tsp fresh chopped rosemary, 1/2 tsp kosher salt, 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper and omitted the oregano. Increased the amount of turkey to about 2-1/2 cups. I used 2 tablespoons of left over gravy and substituted 2 cups chicken broth in place of the water and chicken bouillon. I also increased the milk to about 3/4 cup. Left the amount of flour the same. I only had one pie crust and the amount seemed too much for a 10" pie plate so I used a 9 x 11 glass dish with one pie crust on top. Next time I might not leave it in on 425 for 15 minutes because the crust got a little too brown...but that's just my oven. That's why I love allrecipes.com....you have tried and true recipes and informative and creative reviews. Thank you to the original poster and to all the reviewers for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a great way to use my leftovers in a scrumptious and creative manner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Just tried this recipe for the first time, delicious. My Family just loved it. I took the suggestions from others and increaded the milk to 1 cup and used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of bullions. Other than that i did not change anything else. will make this again and again. Next time is beef instead of turkey. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Like other reviewers, I altered the recipe. However, this recipe is a good starting point. I added leftover dressing to the vegetable mix to season it. My dressing has cornmeal, sage, celery, onions, pepper, etc. in it. I also added minced garlic to the flour butter mixture. I don't understand other reviewers who cook this dish and then say it has no taste. Taste the filling before you put it in the pie dish and then season it how you like! I also used 3/4 cups milk and 4 tbsp flour and a little extra butter to accommodate the extra flour. I like that the filling is thick and not runny, but that is a personal preference. I baked my bottom crust for 5 minutes and let the filling cool before putting it in the pie dish. I brushed the top crust with a egg white. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great! We made it with one refrigerated pie crust because that's what we had. The filling was firm, so the one crust worked fine. Hit the spot this chilly day after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. We made this with some left over thanksgiving turkey meat and it was incredible. Whole family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very, very simple made with common ingredients found in most home kitchens! Followed the recipe exactly, except that I added a 4oz jar of diced pimentos right before pouring the filling into the pie shell. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Nothing wrong with this recipe. I omitted potatoes (for the lack of) and added mushrooms and peas to take their place. I only had one pie crust, so I used it on top. Filling WAS NOT WATERY. It was thick and seasonings did not overpower. This was fun to make with my 3 year old too. Zero leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
We made a turkey that had been in our freezer since last Thanksgiving. My husband gets a free turkey every Thanksgiving from work, and since we never do Thanksgiving at our house, every October we make turkey to make room in the freezer for the next one. This weekend we made our turkey and now we had to figure out creative ways to use the leftovers. This was dinner last night, and the first homemade pot pie I attempted (the crust was store bought). My family loved this. My husband ate half the pie. I had to make some adjustments based on what I had on hand. 1. I had a 9 in. pie crust and pie pan so I reduced the ingredients. For step 2 in the original recipe, I used 1 carrot, 1 celery, 2 small potatoes, 1 1/4 cup of turkey, and 1 cup of water. 2. I heated the vegetables in olive oil instead of butter in an attempt to make it healthier. 3. I added fresh minced garlic in with the potatoes. 4. I don't buy chicken bullion cubs so I added 1-2 tbs. of homemade leftover turkey gravy (made from the turkey drippings) to the 1 cup of water. 5. I replaced the oregano and parsley with 2 1/2 tsp. of Ms. Dash table blend. 6. In step 3 from the original recipe, I didn't use flour and butter because I had leftover turkey gravy. I heated 1 cup of leftover turkey gravy and 1/4 - 1/3 of milk with the turkey. 7. I had some left over cooked mixed vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, corn and pimento) that I added at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States