Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
After having lived in Mexico for seven years, and having been taught to make pozole by my Mexican mother-in-law, I was a little hesitant to try a pozole that didn't use the traditional pork, since pozole is one of my all time favorites. BUT! This recipe is great! I tried it to use up my leftover Thanksgiving turkey and the soup is absolutely fabulous. I will make one suggestion...traditional pozole is always served with shredded cabbage (or lettuce), diced fresh onion, fresh lime juice and a nice big bottle of hot sauce, so each individual can customize his bowl. I put these items on the side and boy, did we enjoy our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Absolutely fantastic. I used the whole turkey carcass with a little meat left on it and cooked it down till it fell apart. Removed the bones and then followed the rest of the receipe. There were 5 fussy eaters at this meal and they all admitted that they were surprised and they all had 2nd's. We found this should absolutely be served with good cold micro beer. We will make this every year with the leftover turkey and will really look forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
We have made this 2 times and both times we have loved it. This last time we didnt have turkey, so we used chicken. STILL GREAT! It works really well with lime juice, chopped onions, and crumbled tortilla chips thrown on top. LOVE THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
terrific, Pozoloe is one of my favorites and this is a good recipe - I add a little chopped cilantro along with the cabbage at the end. But the suggestion of having onions, etc that people can add to their own sounds like a better idea....next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This was great, quite spicy as well. My family doesn't really like beans so I left those out and it didn't seem to be missing anything. I also provided the topping as suggested but I happened to have a bag of preshredded coleslaw mix (no dressing) and we used that in place of the shredded cabbage, the extra carrot in it didn't cause a problem at all. Also because of the spicyness we had sour cream with it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
WOW! What a wonderful soup! So easy to make and absolutely fabulous! I made as written with the exception of the poblanos. I didn't have any, so used 4 or 5 canned chipotles instead. Did I mention this recipe is fabulous! Thanks so much for sharing, Camilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Oh YUUUUMMMMMMM!!! I made this with leftover chicken instead of turkey and used chicken broth as well. The only thing I did different (other than that) with this recipe is I bought the wrong peppers by mistake- I bought a can of serrano peppers which I think are hotter than poblano peppers and I know are hotter than jalepeno which I somehow forgot to buy (oops) so I didn't use the whole can because I didn't want to ruin the recipe in case they were too hot- anyway- it turned out fine- the flavors mixed WONDERFULLY and this will be a recipe I will use over and over (maybe a new years tradition)- I served with hot sauce, sour cream and tortilla chips. THANK YOU!!!! I will try with turkey and I will also try with pork in the future too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe. I have used jalepenos and pinto beans and added carrots. Always turns out great. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
We don't eat pork, so I loved finding a recipe for red posole that uses turkey (or chicken) instead! Green posole is okay, but the flavor doesn't have the depth of the red. Anyhow....I didn't have any turkey left-overs, so I used dark chicken instead, and jalapenos instead of poblanos. The store didn't have any cannellini beans, so I used pinto. The dark meat was fall apart tender, and we used lots of fresh lime and cabbage mixed in. Great texture, and the flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Fabulous! I used one hungarian pepper and one more mild pale green pepper and it was just the right amount of spicy (although people who don't like spicy foods might find it overly so).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States