Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this for New Year's Day and everyone loved it. I used dry hominy and soaked and cooked it (the package had directions) and did not use cannellini beans; also roasted my poblanos. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
It was a very good soup but definitely not what I would consider "pozole". And I think using either beans or hominy would make the recipe better. The texture of both mixed together is just a little strange (the beans were too soft next to the hominy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fridafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was delicious and the perfect thing to do with leftover Thanksgiving turkey! The seasoning was great and really the only thing that I did any differently was put in fresh jalapenos, and roasted some 2 poblano peppers on the grill and diced those up instead of using canned green chilis. I'll definitely keep this recipe around for future use!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Photo by crystalathome
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I used turkey stock instead of broth. What a great way to used the leftovers from Thanksgiving. Any time I make a turkey I will always make this after. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I don't know about the authenticity of this recipe, which some reviewers were apt to comment on, but this soup was outstanding! It was very easy to make, provided all ingredients were on hand, like cooked turkey and turkey broth. It is the perfect thing to make from the leftovers of a turkey dinner, if you don't use the broth for gravy. I used romano and kidney beans, and whole kernel frozen corn, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Perfect use for left-over turkey from thanksgiving (I froze it and am just now getting to it). Very savory and the perfect comfort food for a cool evening. My New Mexican husband says this isn't like the Pasole he used to get as a kid, but it was very delicious none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good posole! In my family we traditionally have posole on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day so the idea of having it on New Year's Day is a new one, but a good one too. Another good idea is to make the posole with chicken and red chile sauce, fresh lemons and chopped onions, and dried oregano. Dee-lish. This is a very good version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
We love it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GELOGENIC
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Even as a picky eater, my husband finds this quite delicious. Easy to make, tastes great and authentic (to what I've had living with a family in Cuernavaca, Mexico) even using turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I dont know how this compares to what one would consider "authentic" posole, but this is a darn good soup! My wife was a bit skeptical, and she hates hominy, so she used corn, but my whole family enjoyed this one. It is very flavorful and aromatic. It has great texture. We added a little grated cheddar when serving, and I just kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States