Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great receipe. It came out very spicy hot. Don't know if my chiles were extra hot, but is a good receipe. It's one that I will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Great soup! Pretty much followed the recipe and it was delicious. Obviously it's not a traditional pozole, but hey it tastes really good, isn't that what matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and it's great! Maybe not quite like "authentic" posole, but still very good. A nice change from the same old "turkey bone soup". Also, it's not as spicy as you might imagine using the fresh poblanos and canned green chilies. Just a nice hint of spice. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this using my leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass. It was absolutely delicious. Surpasses my usual turkey noodle soup recipe for sure. It's a nice change of pace. I started by boiling the carcass until the meat was mostly all off the bone. Drained it and picked out the good meat. I used the broth and meat without measuring. I didn't have poblano chile peppers or green chile peppers, so I used a dried ancho chile that I had. I only had one can of white beans rather than two, but it seemed like enough. This definitely needs toppings. We let each person top their own with cilantro, lime, lettuce, sharp cheddar, onion and tortilla chips. Yum! They totally improve the soup. Without them it would seem dull. With them it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Ay caramba! Me gusta mucho! Left out the beans, pureed some of the hominy and threw in some tortilla chips which fall apart to give it a thicker consistency. Seasoning is right on. I'm sure I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My family loved this dish! I did omit the poblano peppers, due to my kids not liking spicy dishes. I did use fresh roasted green chiles though. I was telling a friend about making this dish, and she said hominy purchased from a mexican store is so much better(frozen hominy). Next time I make this, I plan to use her suggestion. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe was very good. My husband and I were looking for something to do with leftover turkey. This definitely fit the bill. I know it is not your traditional posole but the flavor was fantastic!!! This is a definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this for New Year's Day and everyone loved it. I used dry hominy and soaked and cooked it (the package had directions) and did not use cannellini beans; also roasted my poblanos. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
It was a very good soup but definitely not what I would consider "pozole". And I think using either beans or hominy would make the recipe better. The texture of both mixed together is just a little strange (the beans were too soft next to the hominy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fridafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was delicious and the perfect thing to do with leftover Thanksgiving turkey! The seasoning was great and really the only thing that I did any differently was put in fresh jalapenos, and roasted some 2 poblano peppers on the grill and diced those up instead of using canned green chilis. I'll definitely keep this recipe around for future use!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States