Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe!! The only change I made was to use roasted chicken breasts instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We loved this dish! Yummy, versatile, and healthy! It makes sort of a soup but my husband isn't a soup person so for the first meal we had it I drained the liquid and we had it with some corn tortillas and salsa. Then there was more liquid so I had it for the next few days as soup for lunch. Also I didn't have hominy do I used frozen corn and that worked fine. This would be great for a crowd! This is one for the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Vorpagel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe every year for close to a decade, always the day after Thanksgiving and my family loves it. I use the turkey carcass from the Thanksgiving Dinner to make my turkey stock, which takes several hours. And then I make the soup so it is a 4 hour labor of love. The house smells so fantastic, while it is cooking and that is generally the day we also put up our Christmas tree. This Posole is very much a part of our Holiday Traditions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Followed recipe without variation; excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious. This recipe made plenty for me to freeze as well as take to work for lunch. Definitely on the make again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I thought this was great. I had never had posole before and didn't know what it was, but this was a great way to use turkey that i had bought and didn't know what to do with it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I thought this was real close to the Posole everyone in New Mexico calls "real Posole". One reviewer said it wasn't even close but I totally disagree! No meat, as she claimed, wouldn't be Posole at all! Yet another review said beans and hominy together didn't work. Wow, I can't imagine it any other way. Many folks out my way use pinto rather than cannellini beans and it's great that way too. This recipe is what us south westerners call mex-American authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We used this for thanksgiving left overs as well as Christmas left overs instead of just turkey soup. I've never had Poole, but we are no wimps when it comes to Mexican food or spice in general. So, I mad the soup just as listed with some extra garlic. I used half dark meat, half white meat. It turned out great and in my opinion wasn't spicy, just really flavorful. We even gave our 7 year old daughter the soup and she liked it. Oh and we garnished it with cheddar cheese, cilantro and tortilla chips. Lime juice probably would be good too. I have no idea how authentic this is, but it tastes great and frankly that's what I really care about. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was very easy and yummy. I have used leftover turkey in soups before and never really liked the results. This was delish. I only used one can each of the hominy and beans and it turned out great. Definitely a keeper for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used all hominy - no beans. great with diced onion mixed with cilantro and corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States