Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by crystalathome
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I used turkey stock instead of broth. What a great way to used the leftovers from Thanksgiving. Any time I make a turkey I will always make this after. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I don't know about the authenticity of this recipe, which some reviewers were apt to comment on, but this soup was outstanding! It was very easy to make, provided all ingredients were on hand, like cooked turkey and turkey broth. It is the perfect thing to make from the leftovers of a turkey dinner, if you don't use the broth for gravy. I used romano and kidney beans, and whole kernel frozen corn, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Perfect use for left-over turkey from thanksgiving (I froze it and am just now getting to it). Very savory and the perfect comfort food for a cool evening. My New Mexican husband says this isn't like the Pasole he used to get as a kid, but it was very delicious none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good posole! In my family we traditionally have posole on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day so the idea of having it on New Year's Day is a new one, but a good one too. Another good idea is to make the posole with chicken and red chile sauce, fresh lemons and chopped onions, and dried oregano. Dee-lish. This is a very good version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
We love it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GELOGENIC
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Even as a picky eater, my husband finds this quite delicious. Easy to make, tastes great and authentic (to what I've had living with a family in Cuernavaca, Mexico) even using turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I dont know how this compares to what one would consider "authentic" posole, but this is a darn good soup! My wife was a bit skeptical, and she hates hominy, so she used corn, but my whole family enjoyed this one. It is very flavorful and aromatic. It has great texture. We added a little grated cheddar when serving, and I just kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Great way to use turkey--something definitely different and delicious. I had all the ingredients except the hominy, so I substituted frozen corn, and that was just fine. We put corn chips in the bottom of the bowl before adding the posole. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is not a good Pozole recipe. The original recipe goes for pork, chicken and even a vegetarian version with no meat/poultry at all. It does not have beans, or jalapeños or anything the recipe stands for. Maybe it is a good caserole of something, but Pozole never...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I have made the pork version of this, so it was great to see turkey. I like both of them. This just has a good, spicy flavor that even my 4 children liked. Not too spicy--just enough to give a little heat! I didn't have poblano chiles so I had to sub Jalapenos. I'll try the right kind next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States