Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
terrific; I home-made the turkey broth using a smoked turkey carcass -- add a wonderful rich flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My skeptical-of-new-recipes husband went crazy over this (he will eat anything with cumin in it). I had made the Slow Cooker Turkey Breast recipe with a 7-pounder to make the Leftover Turkey Cheesecake recipe and had so much left over, that I had to find something to do with it. This was PERFECT with it. So good. There was only one brand of turkey broth at the store but I was just happy they had any. When I can't find turkey broth - have had good results with turkey stock. Might take 2 days to make this next time - slow cook the turkey breast and shred, then take the bones and everything needed to make a proper broth and slow cook that. The onions and peppers disintegrated, I think the only thing I would do differently is to take that out and add that back in at the end. Also had leftover bread and made some croutons (Garlic Crouton recipe) which was AWESOME with this. The skeptical-hubby was nervous again but now says they are 'key' to this soup. Another phrase out of his mouth 'instant classic' and 'part of the rotation' ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I don't know if it taste authentic or not but it was a wonderful change of pace from our regular turkey leftovers!! It was flavorful and easy to make. I used corn instead of the hominy but it still came out delicious. I will use this recipes again for sure...simple wonderful !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was amazing with only a few changes! I used center cut pork chops (2lbs cubed) instead of turkey. Chicken stock instead of turkey (I didn't have any). I threw in 2 cups of frozen corn, 1 can of tomato sauce and slow cooked all of it on low for 5 hrs. To date this has been the only recipe with hominy my husband will every eat! AMAZING! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oliviajvega

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CassLeeAnne
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I agree with another reviewer who commented on the traditional recipes for posole, but I have to say that I thought this recipe was okay. For someone that has never had posole (my husband and his parents) they liked it just fine. I did leave out the poblanos, because I didn't know what kind of heat they would add to the soup and my husband and his parents can't handle much spice. Otherwise, I made this recipe as written. I like that the beans and hominy make this a very filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great receipe. It came out very spicy hot. Don't know if my chiles were extra hot, but is a good receipe. It's one that I will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Great soup! Pretty much followed the recipe and it was delicious. Obviously it's not a traditional pozole, but hey it tastes really good, isn't that what matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and it's great! Maybe not quite like "authentic" posole, but still very good. A nice change from the same old "turkey bone soup". Also, it's not as spicy as you might imagine using the fresh poblanos and canned green chilies. Just a nice hint of spice. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this using my leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass. It was absolutely delicious. Surpasses my usual turkey noodle soup recipe for sure. It's a nice change of pace. I started by boiling the carcass until the meat was mostly all off the bone. Drained it and picked out the good meat. I used the broth and meat without measuring. I didn't have poblano chile peppers or green chile peppers, so I used a dried ancho chile that I had. I only had one can of white beans rather than two, but it seemed like enough. This definitely needs toppings. We let each person top their own with cilantro, lime, lettuce, sharp cheddar, onion and tortilla chips. Yum! They totally improve the soup. Without them it would seem dull. With them it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Ay caramba! Me gusta mucho! Left out the beans, pureed some of the hominy and threw in some tortilla chips which fall apart to give it a thicker consistency. Seasoning is right on. I'm sure I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States