Turkey Mercedes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I didn't make this recipe, but my mother in law did. It was delious!! I am not a white meat fan, but not once did I take any dark meat. Turkey just melted in your mouth. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was absolutely delicious. Incredibly moist, flavorful, with a heavenly aroma--best smelling/tasting turkey I've made in 15 years. I left the marinade in the bottom of my roasting pan and used it to baste the turkey every 30-45 minutes. After the turkey was cooked, I made a pan gravy with the drippings/marinade mixture by whisking in about a 1/4 cup of white all-purpose flour. Let that darken, whisked constantly to prevent lumps, then added about 2 cups reduced sodium/fat chicken broth, and some whipping cream (maybe 2-3 Tbsp., and one grated carrot (optional-lemon zest would be nice, too). Whisked misture constantly, letting it get to the desired color and thickness. Served the gravy with the turkey and the combination was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNLEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
AMAZING! This was my first turkey roating experience and what an experience. I had 22lbs turkey for 23 people and there was nothing left at the end. I followed the recipe except adding quatered lemons and oranges into the turkey cavity to keep the citrus aroma and basting it about every one hour with mixture of olive oil, cumin, ground pepper, and salt. I was impressed with the color of the finished bird and how juicy it was when we started carving it. And as soon as you put it in your mouth, it melts. People who hate white meat went for a second serving! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I am going to try this (scaled down of course) on chicken. But for turkey, it didn't add much flavor considering all the work peeling garlic. It made the house smell GREAT, but the drippings had a citrus-y flavor, which crossed over into the gravy, and that wasn't so great. If you can get mojo criollo marinade where you live, just buy a bottle of that and use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Good marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
An outstanding recipe! I made this for Thankgiving dinner and it was a huge hit! I'm only disappointed that I bought a 21-lb turkey for 9 people and don't have enough left over for sandwiches! I used a jar of minced garlic and substituted fresh OJ (double the amount) for the OJ concentrate. After marinating overnight, I strained the marinade and used a flavor injector to add more. The meat was very tender with a mild lemon flavor, and the skin had a wonderful "flavor bite"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This recipe was so awesome! We loved it, the ease of making it and the wonderful and different flavors! We will make it again definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLR12473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was delicious, so moist and flavorful! We just finished it a few hours ago for Thanksgiving dinner and it really came out fantastic. We'll be making this again for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
What a great recipe! My family and I just enjoyed Turkey Mercedes and it was wonderful. Very moist and flavorful. Thank you so much Anel for sharing this recipe. Turkey Mercedes, a new Thanksgiving tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I usually cook my turkeys in a Reynolds bag, so I used the bag to hold the turkey while marinating. I think it made it much easier (but I didn't try it without the bag). This way I could turn to turkey in the bag as it marinated. Update: It was good, but I wouldn't make it again for Thanksgiving. (I'll go back to a simple brined turkey.) As a change of pace, the flavor was too mild for the extra trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States