Turkey Mercedes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Loved it more when I did a test run on a chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
It was delicious and the citrus marinade was so fresh tasting. I marinated the turkey in a sturdy plastic bag in lieu of the pan and aluminum foil. I definitely will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This recipe is wonderful...My turkey looked beautifl and tasted moist and yummy. I was afraid of all that garlic, but it wasn't garlicy at all. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
OMYGOSH!!!! This was fantastic!!! My sister made this for Thanksgiving. The aroma was great. After removing the bird from the oven, waiting for the boys to carve the thing we stood around pickin and eating the garlic out of it, it was funny. The meat was great, even the kids ate it, and liked it. A keeper for sure.Very Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was my fourth try at a turkey for Thanksgiving, and my most unfortunate one. I agree with the other reviews that there was too much lemon/citrus taste in the marinade and consequently the gravy and everything you usually pore it on. Unbelievable amount of garlic required - I kept checking the recipe to make sure it really called for 3 heads. I marinated it overnight with all the garlic, but then roasted it with about 1/2 head left on it. I also did not roast it with all of the marinade and added stock for basting it, but it was still extremely lemony. I usually make the best gravy, and everyone was very disappointed in it this year. Live and Learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was fantastic! Tender and juicy all the way through, even when you forget to marinate it overnight! *Grin*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I have made this turkey many times, it is one of my favorite recipes from this site. Since there are only 2 of us, I always cut the marinade in half and use only a turkey breast. I roast it at 325 for 20 minutes per pound. I've also prepared this using chicken, and besides roasting it, cooked it in the crockpot. It's always turned out great! I always stuff it with garlic first, and then pour the marinade over. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was my 26 thanksgiving turkey, so I thought a new recipe might be nice for a change. I must admit this recipe requires more work than I usually put in to the bird(s). I was faithful to the recipe, though I questioned the 3 heads of garlic (Too much, and my wife and family are Italian!). The result was okay, not a bird to shout about. Most guests commented that it was an average bird, not up to my usual work of years past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodiology

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My family and guests loved this and raved about it. It was so moist and flavorful and tender! I marinated and cooked it in the roasting bag as another reviewer did and I think that helped as well--not that it needed any help, it was yummy. My family is already asking for this recipe for the christmas turkey. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uruma, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Not to sound mean but - this recipe was followed exactly (with reservations) using a 22-pound Butterball because I wanted to try something new for the holiday & the reviews were generally very good. It basically ruined Thanksgiving. All you could taste was citrus & garlic. The drippings made a horrible gravy when used even sparingly (were you even supposed to use these drippings?). Very difficult to believe this recipe WON a contest. Maybe if you grew up eating something like this & are used to it - I can possibly see stomaching that. Tried to salvage the gravy by dilluting it with canned gravy and thought it was OK - to no avail. Some people put the gravy on the turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes etc. which essentially made it inedible. Ended up throwing a lot of food out. The overall turkey itself was OK once you got past all the garlic & citrus outer coating. For the holidays tradition will always be followed from now on - NO lemons/orange concentrate/massive garlic. Just roast & baste the thing. I also found it difficult understanding the glowing reviews this recipe received??? Unfortunately I had to learn that tradition should rule the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States