Turkey Meatballs with Vegetable Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So we tried this out today I made the condensed soup from scratch, we try not to eat a lot of processed foods. Against my better judgment I didn't add a lot of seasoning this recipe didn't have really at all. I added sauteed celery garlic and onion to the meatballs. My kids said they were flavorless.I don't eat meat so I didn't try them. I did add a little bit of parmesan cheese and a bag of frozen sweet peas. I think spinach or broccoli would have been good too. It still needed a lot more seasoning in my opinion. Obviously that is subjective. So it wasn't perfect, but I think it is a very good base recipe. I think tomorrow I will try to revamp the leftovers. I will use this recipe again just with more seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We really loved this but I can't give it five stars because I don't think we would have liked it as it was written. I salted the meat, about a half to one teaspoon. I also added some pepper to the meat, and half of an onion, chopped very fine. I would consider at least the salt and pepper necessary. Additionally, because I didn't have vegetable soup I used a can of cream of chicken, and a can of milk, with vegetable "better than bouillon". Because the milk wasn't as thick as the soup I had to thicken the sauce with flour before serving. In the end, it was wonderful! I have to say though, that there is plenty of room for this to be yucky if you don't substitute with the right things, as some people have mentioned. Use discretion; if the soup you have doesn't seem like it would be good over noodles as a sauce, don't use it in this recipe. Also, I would suggest doing as I did and using milk and bouillon thickened with flour if you want to get away from the canned soup taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I loved the sound of this. Quick, easy and realtively nutritious, I thought. I cooked this last night for my family and ended up in tears. I have never before served them something which tasted so bad or had worse texture. I'm not just disappointed with this recipe, I am downright annoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was delish! I didn't have condensed soup so I used regular and added some flour to thicken. I also used beef instead of turkey. It will certainly be going into our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I used italian-seasoned ground turkey, and breadcrumbs made from a sundried tomato baguette. Also used a 26 ounce condensed tomato soup and added chopped fresh carrots and mildly hot peppers, and some heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk. A few changes, but the same basic guidelines, so I rate this a 4 of 5, really enjoyed it. Served it over rice. Didn't tell my husband it was canned soup until after he praised it profusely. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I used store bought turkey meatballs. I also added a few ingredients to the sauce like Worchestshire sauce, a bit of white wine, sauteed mushrooms and shallots and some paprika to give it a bit more homemade, less canned soup flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
this was a VERY easy dish for those days when you have minimum ingredients or time, and it was GOOD! I used sausage b/c I didnt have turkey and it turned out great!!! Served it over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
If you are looking for quick easy meals, this is one you'll want to try. When I first added the condensed soup the dish had that "canned soup" taste. But the more the dish simmered, you couldn't tell that a convenience food was used in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenniferJP
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was OK. My husband loved it, kids ate the meatballs out, and I probably wouldn't make it for company, but it was OK. I added garlic pepper and a dash of worcestershire sauce to the meatballs, and served the dish over whole wheat egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made several changes to try and improve this, but sorry, it is not very interesting to me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States