Turkey Meatballs with Vegetable Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So we tried this out today I made the condensed soup from scratch, we try not to eat a lot of processed foods. Against my better judgment I didn't add a lot of seasoning this recipe didn't have really at all. I added sauteed celery garlic and onion to the meatballs. My kids said they were flavorless.I don't eat meat so I didn't try them. I did add a little bit of parmesan cheese and a bag of frozen sweet peas. I think spinach or broccoli would have been good too. It still needed a lot more seasoning in my opinion. Obviously that is subjective. So it wasn't perfect, but I think it is a very good base recipe. I think tomorrow I will try to revamp the leftovers. I will use this recipe again just with more seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We really loved this but I can't give it five stars because I don't think we would have liked it as it was written. I salted the meat, about a half to one teaspoon. I also added some pepper to the meat, and half of an onion, chopped very fine. I would consider at least the salt and pepper necessary. Additionally, because I didn't have vegetable soup I used a can of cream of chicken, and a can of milk, with vegetable "better than bouillon". Because the milk wasn't as thick as the soup I had to thicken the sauce with flour before serving. In the end, it was wonderful! I have to say though, that there is plenty of room for this to be yucky if you don't substitute with the right things, as some people have mentioned. Use discretion; if the soup you have doesn't seem like it would be good over noodles as a sauce, don't use it in this recipe. Also, I would suggest doing as I did and using milk and bouillon thickened with flour if you want to get away from the canned soup taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I loved the sound of this. Quick, easy and realtively nutritious, I thought. I cooked this last night for my family and ended up in tears. I have never before served them something which tasted so bad or had worse texture. I'm not just disappointed with this recipe, I am downright annoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was delish! I didn't have condensed soup so I used regular and added some flour to thicken. I also used beef instead of turkey. It will certainly be going into our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I used italian-seasoned ground turkey, and breadcrumbs made from a sundried tomato baguette. Also used a 26 ounce condensed tomato soup and added chopped fresh carrots and mildly hot peppers, and some heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk. A few changes, but the same basic guidelines, so I rate this a 4 of 5, really enjoyed it. Served it over rice. Didn't tell my husband it was canned soup until after he praised it profusely. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I used store bought turkey meatballs. I also added a few ingredients to the sauce like Worchestshire sauce, a bit of white wine, sauteed mushrooms and shallots and some paprika to give it a bit more homemade, less canned soup flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
this was a VERY easy dish for those days when you have minimum ingredients or time, and it was GOOD! I used sausage b/c I didnt have turkey and it turned out great!!! Served it over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
If you are looking for quick easy meals, this is one you'll want to try. When I first added the condensed soup the dish had that "canned soup" taste. But the more the dish simmered, you couldn't tell that a convenience food was used in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenniferJP
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was OK. My husband loved it, kids ate the meatballs out, and I probably wouldn't make it for company, but it was OK. I added garlic pepper and a dash of worcestershire sauce to the meatballs, and served the dish over whole wheat egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made several changes to try and improve this, but sorry, it is not very interesting to me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Prep a Turkey

See how to thaw, brine, and roast a super-moist Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States