Turkey-Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
We all enjoyed this tremendously - I used one pound of ground turkey (not sausage), two cans of diced chili-ready tomatoes and added carrots. I found that I needed more broth to thin it up a bit - ended up adding two more cups. I also felt it needed lots more cumin, salt, and pepper. We served with whole wheat naan bread and everyone cleaned their bowls! Very healthy dish - good for your heart!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. It was hearty enough without being overly heavy and the flavor was good, but not too strong. I made the recipe without any modifications and I would make it the same way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I thought this was a really nice recipe. I am not a big fan of pork sausage, but I did like the turkey sausage. I omitted the celery as I also don't care for celery. And I cut down on the garlic by 1/2. I love garlic, but I think you would have only tasted garlic had I put in the full amount called for. I also lightened it up a bit by adding a little chicken stock, as indeed, it is very thick. And I used sour cream instead of yogurt. But dang! This was pretty good!! Served it with warm crusty sour dough rolls, and it was a very full meal. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
We LOVED this recipe. I made it for my husband and I thinking my kids wouldn't eat it, but they and their friends all had seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Good base, needed a bit more spice in my opinion, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Loved it. I chopped up two red bell peppers and added them to the vegetables and they added a delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I didn't have any turkey sausage, so I used some grilled chicken breasts instead. The chili was a hit at my school's chili cookoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was very, very good. I only had one cup of Lentils so I added a cup of split green peas. This was a great addition. I also used only 1 quarts broth instead of2 to get a thicker chili. I also added a little corn to give a nice sweet crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good recipe. I changed the yogurt to low fat sour cream. The lentils make this hearty and healthy. I will make this again for superbowl Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was VERY yummy! I did leave out the yogurt as a garnish as it just seem to fit into my thoughts on this dish...Janpie recommended this to me..she wasn't wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States