Turkey-Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This came out good! With a little doctoring, this recipe is a 5. I didn't need the whole 12 servings, so I cut it back to 6 and kept the garlic and seasoning amounts at 12. I added a bit of salt and pepper, a few shakes of pepper sauce, 1 tsp of chicken broth powder and used a can of diced tomatoes in place of the regular toms called for. In the end, I added about a tsp of a high quality chili powder and it was just the polishing the chili needed. Be careful with cooking the sausage through with the garlic. Garlic burns easily, so I added mine once the sausage was done, and cooked until fragrant, before adding the tomatoes. This isn't a traditional chili, but whatever you call it, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I put my own swing of things in this recipe, adding lentils to chili was a great idea, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Excellent! While we would not refer to this as chili (more like soup to us), regardless, it was still fantastic! Really easy to throw together and very healthy. I did about one and a half times of all of my spices and the flavour was really nice, not too overpowering. I didn't have tomatoes, so added a 28oz can of diced. I used orange lentils as that was all I had, and I didn't boil them for the 10 mins with the broth as I find they tend to cook fairly quick. Also used ground turkey, not turkey sausage. Left out the yogurt at the end, liked the idea of it better without! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My family really liked this. I made a couple of changes. I did not have any tomatoes, so I used the 8 oz. can of tomato sauce I had in the cupboard. I also used chicken broth. Thanks, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was VERY yummy! I did leave out the yogurt as a garnish as it just seem to fit into my thoughts on this dish...Janpie recommended this to me..she wasn't wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great taste! This was easy to prepare. The yogurt really makes the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
A favorite of mine - make it at least once a month. Healthy, tasty, etc. I do add more spices as other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was very good and fast. I made it just as written with only one change: adding carrots. One piece of advice: next time I will brown the sausage by itself and drain it well, before adding onions and celery. I didn't get a chance to drain it and it was quite greasy around the edges. The flavor was great. Even my picky husband, 3 and 5 year old ate some. I will make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I made this recipe with about 1.3 pounds of ground turkey and added spices from a recipe for ground turkey sausage. I then made the dish as listed and it turned out great. It's flavorful, healthy, and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I love this recipe! I use ground turkey and tomato sauce instead of sausage and an actual tomato. I've made it quite a few times and most recently added butternut squash to it... absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States