Turkey-Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I made a few changes though. I used 1 cup of salsa instead of tomatoes, and ground turkey instead of turkey sausage. I omitted the celery and used mushrooms instead. I also didn't use the vegetable broth or the parsley. I used chicken broth. I didn't use the yogurt because I am lactose intolerant. I added the salsa because it gave the chili a lot more flavor. I served the chili with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
As one son said: Doesn't look that good, but tastes yummy. Used turkey broth and ground turkey, and therefore multiplied the garlic and rest of spices by 1.5 and added 1.5 tsp of chilli powder. Added 2 tsp of sea salt. Still fairly mild but just right for the range of tastes for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I've made this before and it was REALLY good! My 7-1/2 year son added some cinnamon, and it was tasty! We'll make it again today, the same way, after sledding in our snow-covered coastal area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Unbelievably good. We used our leftover turkey meat from Thanksgiving and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Everyone loves it, even my preschooler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! Like others, I made with pork sausage because that's what I had on hand. When I make it again, I will use turkey sausage. The only other thing I thought was missing was chili powder and cayenne. So I added a tablespoon and a dash of cayenne, because I like chili to be a little spicy. I also didn't have tomatoes, so I used a large can of crushed tomatoes. It worked out perfectly! This is a very hearty, filling, delicious version of chili! Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Eversman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Used regular Italian sausage and it worked just fine. I made this for a large group of people and they just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe!! So versatile, so healthy, so yummy. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Awesome recipe. I modified it by adding spinach. I used one pound of ground turkey and mixed in garlic powder, cumin, and a spice mixture including black pepper, garlic, cinnamon, nutmeg, and marjoram. I used cumin, chipotle, coriander and the cinnamon spice mixture in the broth. I added a little pit of lime juice to balance out the sweetness from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was easy to make and it made enough for my boyfriend and I to eat dinner and both have lunch for 2 more days. Instead of turkey, I used meatless crumbles and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States