Turkey-Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
We all enjoyed this tremendously - I used one pound of ground turkey (not sausage), two cans of diced chili-ready tomatoes and added carrots. I found that I needed more broth to thin it up a bit - ended up adding two more cups. I also felt it needed lots more cumin, salt, and pepper. We served with whole wheat naan bread and everyone cleaned their bowls! Very healthy dish - good for your heart!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. It was hearty enough without being overly heavy and the flavor was good, but not too strong. I made the recipe without any modifications and I would make it the same way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I thought this was a really nice recipe. I am not a big fan of pork sausage, but I did like the turkey sausage. I omitted the celery as I also don't care for celery. And I cut down on the garlic by 1/2. I love garlic, but I think you would have only tasted garlic had I put in the full amount called for. I also lightened it up a bit by adding a little chicken stock, as indeed, it is very thick. And I used sour cream instead of yogurt. But dang! This was pretty good!! Served it with warm crusty sour dough rolls, and it was a very full meal. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
We LOVED this recipe. I made it for my husband and I thinking my kids wouldn't eat it, but they and their friends all had seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Loved it. I chopped up two red bell peppers and added them to the vegetables and they added a delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I didn't have any turkey sausage, so I used some grilled chicken breasts instead. The chili was a hit at my school's chili cookoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was very, very good. I only had one cup of Lentils so I added a cup of split green peas. This was a great addition. I also used only 1 quarts broth instead of2 to get a thicker chili. I also added a little corn to give a nice sweet crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Good base, needed a bit more spice in my opinion, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good recipe. I changed the yogurt to low fat sour cream. The lentils make this hearty and healthy. I will make this again for superbowl Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was VERY yummy! I did leave out the yogurt as a garnish as it just seem to fit into my thoughts on this dish...Janpie recommended this to me..she wasn't wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States