Turkey Lasagna with Butternut Squash, Zucchini, and Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Absolutely amazing! Made it for my family dinner, hoping it would be any good.... And we stuffed ourselves! We couldn't get enough! Reheated the next day at work famously also! So pleased, I already bought another squash to make it again! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This was such a success. Especially being my first time ever making a lasagna. I tweeked the recipe a bit but the taste I'm sure is still the same. - Used Whole Wheat Lasagna pasta - Sliced both zucchini and squash (Did not use microwave, just baked it all together so its not so soggy. The texture was perfect coming out of the oven) - Added a little more of all the seasonings above - Added garlic powder to my ricotta/mozz mix - Definitely need a higher pan, my 9x13 was over flowing Enjoy! This recipe was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
LOVED this! I used coconut oil to cook the onion and garlic, used 2/3 spinach and 1/3 kale, and one yellow squash and one zucchini. Walmart sells cubed butternut squash in a 4 C bag with microwave directions to cook it in the package, which was really convenient. Next time I'll cut the squashes up smaller for my picky son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe get 5 stars for being a tasty healthier alternative to a typical lasagna. My husband is not a squash fan but he still ate this. I used onion powder in place of onion. I steamed my butternut squash instead of microwaving because I have read that it retains more nutrients that way. I also used a little extra mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
One of the best lasagnas I have ever made and that my father has ever had. I'm still shocked by that compliment from the colonel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fantastic and turned out perfect!! We are a small family so I halved the recipe and made it in a 8x8 glass dish using Barilla flat rolled no-boil lasagna noodles (2 noodles covers the 8x8 pan perfectly!) The sauce is very thick to begin with, so we only let it simmer about 20-30 minutes before assembly. Leave in all the veggies for the health benefits - the kids won't even notice them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This a really good lasagna- And the first time I made one myself! I would omit the zucchini next time. Many said this was somewhat bland or needed more seasoning, so I seasoned to taste. The sauce I used a few more cloves of garlic, increased the spices (added marjoram, thyme, chili flakes, bay leaf & rosemary), used ground pork (worked well enough since it's a white meat- I would drain off the fat a little more next time though) and since the recipe called for 7.5 cups of liquid total, I divided it as such: 1 can diced, spicy tomatoes (with onions & seasoning), 1 cup tomato gravy (made with fresh tomatoes & bacon grease- had leftover from another recipe/meal), 1 cup spicy tomato sauce, 2 cups tomato paste & 2 cups water + beef bouillon cube. I forgot to mention that along with the meat portion, I had added the remains of a pack of cremini mushrooms. I only cooked it for roughly 45 minutes as the sauce had reached a consistency that I liked. I opted to boil my butternut squash after peeling and dicing for roughly half an hour, then mashed with a little butter and seasoned with sage, salt, garlic powder & pepper. Instead of simply wilted the spinach we opted to crisp them a bit and used 2 bags of fresh spinach. Opted for low-fat cottage cheese instead if ricotta and used low-fat mozzarella. Baked as directed, but you need deeper than a 9x13 and there will be leftover sauce (little bit). I seasoned the mixture with S&P. We served it with "Herb Spread for French Bread" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was great, and took a lot of work, but could be even better pretty easily. I used bottled sauce. I cooked onions and garlic in a little evoo, then added the turkey, drained a little, added the sauce. Then made the ricotta layer and sliced the veggies. Also used frozen spinach well drained. And I used whole milk ricotta which made it better. Next time I'd use a peeler to get thin slices of zucchini, and season each layer (add s&P and maybe something else). I also mashed the squash which worked nicely. I used regular lasagna noodles and didn't add any water. It was pretty dry, but I like it that way. Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I made this for my sister after she had her baby and it was the perfect dish for new parents! They loved it. I added more vegetables like bell peppers and mushrooms which counter-balanced the fact that I used whole-milk mozzarella (hopefully!). It does get a little watery at the bottom but I figured that this would set in as the dish cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I wish I had added salt. And it definitely needed bigger than a 9x13. It was already at the top of the pan when I had only done 2 layers. So I flipped it over into a 10x15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States