Turkey Lasagna with Butternut Squash, Zucchini, and Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I have never made lasagna before, so I was worried about how this would turn out. To my amazement, it not only turned out delicious, but it actually looked good, too! I followed the recipe exactly. I don't have lasagna experience, so I'm sure other reviewers will have different ways of making this, but I can't think of any changes that should be made. Also, I recommend taking the time to make your own sauce, rather than using a jar. The sauce was wonderful and really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was great, though needed a little more seasoning than the recipe called for, especially salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I mistakingly bought a butternut squash instead of a spaghetti squash so I came here looking for a way to use it. Came across this recipe and absolutely loved it! I am a full time working mom with two young kids so I did the speedy version. I did not make my own sauce, I used Newman's Own Sockaroni sauce. I microwaved the butternut squash whole and then peeled and sliced it into thin slices once it cooled. Next time I will buy frozen spinach and thaw it to speed things up even more. Also, I did not use all of the cheese mixture, the lasagna was plenty big without using all of it and I figured it would cut down on the calories as well. Still turned out wonderfully and I love that this is a much healthier version of traditional lasagna. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED all this garden goodness! The sauce turned out a little thick for me, but this may have been because I used fresh tomatoes; I will just add more water next time. I crushed the butternut squash and this helped it to not be so chunky. I loved the sweetness of the squash, but my hubby and kids did not, so I would probably leave it out next time. Otherwise it was wonderful, wholesome, and delicious! It is lots of layers, so make sure you have a deep dish to cook this one! Thanks for a great keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This a really good lasagna- And the first time I made one myself! I would omit the zucchini next time. Many said this was somewhat bland or needed more seasoning, so I seasoned to taste. The sauce I used a few more cloves of garlic, increased the spices (added marjoram, thyme, chili flakes, bay leaf & rosemary), used ground pork (worked well enough since it's a white meat- I would drain off the fat a little more next time though) and since the recipe called for 7.5 cups of liquid total, I divided it as such: 1 can diced, spicy tomatoes (with onions & seasoning), 1 cup tomato gravy (made with fresh tomatoes & bacon grease- had leftover from another recipe/meal), 1 cup spicy tomato sauce, 2 cups tomato paste & 2 cups water + beef bouillon cube. I forgot to mention that along with the meat portion, I had added the remains of a pack of cremini mushrooms. I only cooked it for roughly 45 minutes as the sauce had reached a consistency that I liked. I opted to boil my butternut squash after peeling and dicing for roughly half an hour, then mashed with a little butter and seasoned with sage, salt, garlic powder & pepper. Instead of simply wilted the spinach we opted to crisp them a bit and used 2 bags of fresh spinach. Opted for low-fat cottage cheese instead if ricotta and used low-fat mozzarella. Baked as directed, but you need deeper than a 9x13 and there will be leftover sauce (little bit). I seasoned the mixture with S&P. We served it with "Herb Spread for French Bread" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was great, and took a lot of work, but could be even better pretty easily. I used bottled sauce. I cooked onions and garlic in a little evoo, then added the turkey, drained a little, added the sauce. Then made the ricotta layer and sliced the veggies. Also used frozen spinach well drained. And I used whole milk ricotta which made it better. Next time I'd use a peeler to get thin slices of zucchini, and season each layer (add s&P and maybe something else). I also mashed the squash which worked nicely. I used regular lasagna noodles and didn't add any water. It was pretty dry, but I like it that way. Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naning
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
It was delicious! I added mushrooms on my recipe and just used regular lasagna.I only added 1/2 a cup of water and it was fine.I just tossed all the veggies with the sauce and it works.Thin slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My family couldn't get enough. I made my own ricotta, but other than that I made it exactly as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I wish I had added salt. And it definitely needed bigger than a 9x13. It was already at the top of the pan when I had only done 2 layers. So I flipped it over into a 10x15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
If you love squash you will love!!! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States