Turkey Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I have made this recipe twice now and while the flavor is great, I could not figure out why when I followed the directions exactly my rice was not fully cooked. Turns out, this recipe does not use enough liquid for the amount of rice needed. With rice you need a 1:2 ratio. So instead of 2 cups of broth you actually need 3 for the amount of rice needed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
What a great and easy recipe! I used half turkey sausage and half shrimp. Didn't have the cajun seasoning so made due with what I had on hand. It was really good. There were no leftovers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I make this meal for my family all the time, and we love it! Because I don't like spicy food, I make a few substitutions: 1. smoked sausage for the hot turkey sausage 2. Mexican-style diced tomatoes instead of the Italian style 3. 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning instead of the Cajun seasoning If I don't have Mexican-style diced tomatoes, then I use the Italian-style tomatoes and just cut back on the Cajun seasoning. This is great comfort food, and it is also great for those times when your husband calls you on the way home from work to mention that he invited a friend for dinner. I can have it simmering by the time they arrive, and I always get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I made the following substitutions: used a red bell pepper, forgot the onion, added mushrooms, non-spicy sausage, 2 bay leaves, and basmati rice. I also homemade my Cajun spice mix. This dish came out great. I did have to cook longer because my rice wasn't done in the time alloted. It was so simple to make though that I didn't mind waiting. This can also be made in a slow cooker, so it's great to make on a weeknight. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was good. Made it with mild sausage & cooked the rice separately in chicken broth. One of my children loved it, the other picked out all the sausage & left the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was very good, even my eight year old gobbled it up! The only thing I did different was I used sweet turkey sausage instead of hot, b'c my family doesn't like super spicy food. The cajun spice added just enough zing for us. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Instead of grilling the sausage, I cut it up and stir fried it in the pan, removed and cooked the veggies and then added it back in. I cooked the rice separately as directed on the package and then topped it with the veggie/sausage mixture. This was so quick and easy for a busy night. The leftovers were even better the next day. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Rice DID NOT cook as recipe indicated. I ended up using another can of chicken broth and about another 45 minutes and STILL it wasn't all the way cooked. We were so hungry, we just gave up and ate it, and the chicken broth dominated the entire dish. I'm sure it would've been delicious had I cooked the rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Followed exactly except I did not have a bell pepper (will definitely add one next time) and I think there was too much rice. I will cut it back to 1 cup instead of 1 1/2 another time - it was way too dry. I will definitely make this again (dh said to not mess with the flavors any) but the rice was a total disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was fabulous! I did it a little differently-- cooked the rice alone and mixed it together before serving. Thus I used only 3/4 to 1 cup water with chicken bouillon granules. I did add 1.5 cups of frozen okra, and used yellow pepper instead of green to add some color to the dish. I used smoked extra lean turkey sausage ring. I added extra salt but will not next time. Great recipe, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States