Turkey Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Also on South Beach, this was great! Kind of spicy for my husband, but he liked it. Omitting the rice makes it more of a yummy vegetable turkey soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was GREAT! We have been on south beach for some time now, and this recipe is a definite keeper for that. I ommitted the rice (obviously for south beach!) and I substituted a red bell pepper, so I only let it cook for 15 minutes after adding the sausage. I didn't add celery because I didn't have any. For my husband, I also added shrimp for the last 5 minutes of cooking. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vero Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I substituted turkey sausage with fried cubed summer sausage and it went surprisingly well(i have gobs of it that i don't know what else to do with). I cut out a few ingredients that I didn't have. So, it pretty much went like this, can of Italian diced tomatoes, fried sausage, 2 cups chicken broth, 2 tsp cajun seasoning, handful or so of chopped celery, bring to boil and simmer until celery is soft, then add 1 1/2 cups of minute rice, cover and let sit for 5 or so minutes. Turned out great with the minute rice, which I was afraid of using at first (I'm just a beginner in the kitchen). It's also good without any meat at all. The celery gives it a surprisingly great flavor that I love. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a delicious, quick, and economical meal. I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to spend a lot of time cooking during the work week. I had to adjust the amount of Cajun seasoning because the specified amount would have been too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Less rice, more turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Delicious! Even better the next day! I used boil in bag brown rice so it cut the cook time to only ten minutes once the sausage was cooked. A great, filling, healthy dinner in practically no time at all! Will be sure to have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars as I did not make it as stated due to what I had on hand. I agree with other reviews...this was definitely ready in under 30 mins (used basmati rice). Unfortunately, I didn't have hot turkey sausage, only had regular turkey suasage and I think the hot would add alot more flavour. I didn't add the bay leaf as I didn't have one and used red pepper instead of green (didn't have). I do think it needed a bigger can of tomatoes (I also didn't have italian ones, so used regular diced tomatoes), so I will likely try again, but it was quite quick to throw together on usual rushed week night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was fabulous! I did it a little differently-- cooked the rice alone and mixed it together before serving. Thus I used only 3/4 to 1 cup water with chicken bouillon granules. I did add 1.5 cups of frozen okra, and used yellow pepper instead of green to add some color to the dish. I used smoked extra lean turkey sausage ring. I added extra salt but will not next time. Great recipe, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was great! Even though I fudged some ingredients, like skipping the bay leaves, I found this to be a filling, flavorful dish. I think next time I'll try adding some Rotel mexican tomatoes for a good kick of spiciness. Like many other reviewers, I also found that the rice was done at after 30 minutes (not 40 as the recipes states).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States