Turkey Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Rice DID NOT cook as recipe indicated. I ended up using another can of chicken broth and about another 45 minutes and STILL it wasn't all the way cooked. We were so hungry, we just gave up and ate it, and the chicken broth dominated the entire dish. I'm sure it would've been delicious had I cooked the rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was a very tasty recipe. I will make this again and make a few variations of the same. I did not have any trouble with the rice, however I did use three cups of broth and it was fully cooked in the time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Easy, healthy meal to use turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I have made this recipe twice now and while the flavor is great, I could not figure out why when I followed the directions exactly my rice was not fully cooked. Turns out, this recipe does not use enough liquid for the amount of rice needed. With rice you need a 1:2 ratio. So instead of 2 cups of broth you actually need 3 for the amount of rice needed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Followed exactly except I did not have a bell pepper (will definitely add one next time) and I think there was too much rice. I will cut it back to 1 cup instead of 1 1/2 another time - it was way too dry. I will definitely make this again (dh said to not mess with the flavors any) but the rice was a total disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This meal is great!! We aren't big fans of turkey sausage in this household, so we used hot italian sausage instead. I love the flavors of all the veggies mixed with the rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was very good, even my eight year old gobbled it up! The only thing I did different was I used sweet turkey sausage instead of hot, b'c my family doesn't like super spicy food. The cajun spice added just enough zing for us. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was huge hit! We fought over who got the little bit of the leftovers that were left. We will definitley put this on our list of everyday recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I normally eat out

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I use the green onion turkey or chicken sausage the local grocer carries. I use brown jasmine rice cooked in chicken stock in the automatic rice cooker. That takes about two hours on the brown rice setting, but it's worth it! This is one FINE recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Also on South Beach, this was great! Kind of spicy for my husband, but he liked it. Omitting the rice makes it more of a yummy vegetable turkey soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States