Turkey Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Also on South Beach, this was great! Kind of spicy for my husband, but he liked it. Omitting the rice makes it more of a yummy vegetable turkey soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was GREAT! We have been on south beach for some time now, and this recipe is a definite keeper for that. I ommitted the rice (obviously for south beach!) and I substituted a red bell pepper, so I only let it cook for 15 minutes after adding the sausage. I didn't add celery because I didn't have any. For my husband, I also added shrimp for the last 5 minutes of cooking. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vero Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I substituted turkey sausage with fried cubed summer sausage and it went surprisingly well(i have gobs of it that i don't know what else to do with). I cut out a few ingredients that I didn't have. So, it pretty much went like this, can of Italian diced tomatoes, fried sausage, 2 cups chicken broth, 2 tsp cajun seasoning, handful or so of chopped celery, bring to boil and simmer until celery is soft, then add 1 1/2 cups of minute rice, cover and let sit for 5 or so minutes. Turned out great with the minute rice, which I was afraid of using at first (I'm just a beginner in the kitchen). It's also good without any meat at all. The celery gives it a surprisingly great flavor that I love. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a delicious, quick, and economical meal. I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to spend a lot of time cooking during the work week. I had to adjust the amount of Cajun seasoning because the specified amount would have been too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Less rice, more turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Delicious! Even better the next day! I used boil in bag brown rice so it cut the cook time to only ten minutes once the sausage was cooked. A great, filling, healthy dinner in practically no time at all! Will be sure to have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars as I did not make it as stated due to what I had on hand. I agree with other reviews...this was definitely ready in under 30 mins (used basmati rice). Unfortunately, I didn't have hot turkey sausage, only had regular turkey suasage and I think the hot would add alot more flavour. I didn't add the bay leaf as I didn't have one and used red pepper instead of green (didn't have). I do think it needed a bigger can of tomatoes (I also didn't have italian ones, so used regular diced tomatoes), so I will likely try again, but it was quite quick to throw together on usual rushed week night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was fabulous! I did it a little differently-- cooked the rice alone and mixed it together before serving. Thus I used only 3/4 to 1 cup water with chicken bouillon granules. I did add 1.5 cups of frozen okra, and used yellow pepper instead of green to add some color to the dish. I used smoked extra lean turkey sausage ring. I added extra salt but will not next time. Great recipe, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was great! Even though I fudged some ingredients, like skipping the bay leaves, I found this to be a filling, flavorful dish. I think next time I'll try adding some Rotel mexican tomatoes for a good kick of spiciness. Like many other reviewers, I also found that the rice was done at after 30 minutes (not 40 as the recipes states).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States