Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was our first time using our smoker for a turkey. The turkey was fantastic! We cooked for 2 thanksgivings and each time the bird was delicious, fell off the bone and had the smoke taste throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skallay
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Followed everything as noted in instructions. I used a 10lb turkey breast instead and it only needed 7 hours at 250 degrees. I ran out of apple wood chips and decided to use grape vines. This worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is awesome!!! Cant wait till tomorrow to share the finish product!!! I also used apple wood sooo tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was the first recipe I used after buying my electric oster smoker. It is great! I don't brine and it comes out fine. I have used this recipe three times. It NEVER takes 10 hours. Every smoker is different, but for a 12-14 lb turkey.. I figure 20--30 minutes per pound, with the temp set at 250. I like electric bcz you can control the temp and all you have to is plug it in and turn a dial. No charcoal mess.. And of course, I use a meat thermometer to tell me when it's done Happy thanksgiving I love that my oven is free to bake pies and stuffing, while the turkey is out in the smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have made this several times and will definitely be making it many more. It is terrific! I find one can of cola is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have been using this recipe for over 10 years, it is still one of the favorites at our cookouts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this recipe for Christmas eve. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wow! I wish I had this recipe years ago. It is delicious. I don't generally don't care for white meat but this white meat was flaverful. The onion and apple seeped through the cavity and gave them added pizazz. I have an LP smoker and 10 hours was way too long for my 13 pounder. Between 5 and 6 hours was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have a Brinkman smoker with a fire box. My bird was absolutely perfect! I did not change any thing. I have learned not to read comments that are more than a few lines. This usually indicates a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My first ever turkey, and it turned out great! Juicy, smokey, flavorful. For a 10 lb bird, I left the LP smoker on 225-250F for 4.5 hours. When it seemed to level off at 147F for about an hour, I bumped it up to 350 for the last 45-60 mins. I followed the recipe except that I started by brining the bird and did not worry about basting except once. Also, I used applewood chips with just a few small chunks of hickory. Highly recommended!! The only thing I would change is not tossing in the second batch of wood chips since the smokey flavor may have been just a bit strong for some people (though not me!). We'll see how the smoked turkey sandwiches turn out from leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States