Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I cooked my turkey(about 14lbs)and a pork butt on my big grill/ smoker. It has a firebox that I can slide from one end to the other. So it was indirect heat. I ALWAYS use Blackjack oak sometimes adding a log of pecan to it. I kept the temp between 300 and 325 and basted it per the directions.. For the last 30 min I uncovered the bird and put the pork butt over it letting the turkey catch the drippings from it. It took exactly 7 hrs. My wife being skeptical of some of the new things I try...said the turkey had the juiciest breasts she ever tasted in her life. She and our grown kids said it was the best and moistest turkey that I've ever cooked. For those that fry turkeys (which I do that too). This recipe, as moistness goes, beats out a fried turkey to us any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Saint Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I had never smoked a turkey before but my wife asked me to give it a go for Thanksgiving this year to free up oven space. We did a test run in October and invited friends who also had new things that they wanted to try out for Thanksgiving. The bird was delicious and I now know why it has received such a favorable rating. Leftovers lasted for four days and I had a smoked turkey sandwich on each of those days...thought I died and went to heaven. And, as an extra blessing, I realized that although our little electric smoker did a good job in October, it was going at full power and could not get over 230 degrees. Since I was concerned about colder weather in November...and because the wife wanted the free oven space...bingo! A new propane smoker for Thanksgiving! Heh. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had just smoked my first ever turkey before I tried this recipe. My first was a whole bird with an oil, wine and spice marinade. It was disappointing. I nearly gave in to the brining craze before I found this page. All I can say it why the heck would I go to the trouble and mess of brining? In the first place, just try to find an unenhanced bird in a rural area. Secondly, this recipe rocks! I used a Butterball bone-in breast, 6 pounds and change, and reduced the butter, coke and salt to allow for the smaller size. I smoked this Tom breast down in a Weber kettle on indirect heat with a water pan and some apple and hickory chunks. Rather than low and slow, I opted for 300-325*. Internal was only 145* at 3 hours, so I pulled the water pan and let 'er rip to almost 400*. In about an hour I hit my target temp and pulled it. It could not have been more moist and flavorful if I had smoked at 225*. One of the top three turkeys I've ever had. The meat was so tender, I had to be careful not to tear it apart while slicing...and I used a very sharp knife. I don't know what the magic in this recipe is, but you should try it. Forget the brine and smoke it however you want, low and slow, or high and fast. I don't think you could hurt it. Just use the thermometer, especially with the cavity crammed with goodies. Bring it to 165*, rest it, and enjoy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very excellent very first time using a smoker. I did use a brine first, but followed everything else. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
The best turkey I've ever had too. I used a Bradley electric smoker with mostly hickory wood and no brine. I don't know why or how, there's nothing really complicated about the recipe but all I can say is that the taste magically goes all the way into the turkey meat. It's not at all bland inside. I think that is the main difference that sets this recipe apart from others. I can't wait for Christmas again. I'm doing one for the Fouth of July....Yee Haw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
GREAT! We plan on serving this several times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coopersville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. The best turkey I've ever made. Cooked in gas smoker about 7-8 hours and came out perfectly. Even my mom, who doesn't like smoked turkey, loved it. I think this might take the place of brisket at our BBQ's from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Yummy! The first time I didn't have leftovers on Xmas. Start early because I had to bring mine in and finish cooking in the oven. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I used a bone-in turkey breast that weighed approximately 10 pounds. I used the spices listed but placed them inside the skin of the turkey. I added 1 tbsp. of white pepper as well. I placed the apple and onion on the center part of the cavity. I did not pour on the coke as I didn't want to clean the mess out of my smoker. I smoked the bird for 2.5 hours and then removed it to a roasting pan. I poured on the coke, covered, and baked the bird for an additional 2.5 hours (internal temperature 170 degrees). The turkey was very tasty. I doubt it could have been much better had I smoked it instead of baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was great. Everyone was skeptical when I poured soda in the pan, but they were believers when when they tasted that very moist and tender bird. I brined the bird overnight and that cut the cooking time almost in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States