Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
i forgot to cover the bird with foil,but it still came out great.excelent flavor.going to make this again on Easter Day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cut And Shoot, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Made this along side a deep fried turkey for Thanksgiving this year, and this won, hands down. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Absolutely wonderful!!! Dont know if I will ever have a turkey another way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Do it! I was a bit skeptical when I read the ingredients - like the cola, but thought to give it a try. I had a 17 lb turkey and followed the brine and rub recipe from the Neeley's on foodtv. I soaked mine for 14 hours, then followed the recipe here. Make sure you have a big enough roasting pan - defiantly use it since it kept all the moisture in. I say big enough because the juices started to overflow and I had to suck some out w/the baster. I use to smoke chicken and turkey w/o a pan - but never again after this. I used hickory and apple wood for my smoke and kept the smoker temp around 225 - 250. I basted about every hour and it took about 10 hours to reach an internal temp of 165 on the deep part of the thighs. This was sort of a high maintenance prep and cook but well worth the effort. The bird turned out fantastic, my in-laws loved it and the left overs were even better. DO IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is the best turkey I've ever had by far!! We made this and other turkeys for Thanksgiving and this recipe was the clear winner. Plus it was very easy...no brining or anything else. I would highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
It'd be a sin to use this recipe and not provide feedback; it was fabulous!! I reviewed a dozen recipes online and choose this one - and family/frineds are glad I did - it was full of flavor, tender, moist, & succulent. I did modify a couple things (gotta experiment), as I used a Brinkmann smoker with a water pan (1 coke to the cavity, 1 coke to the water pan, used apple wood chunks on charcoal, apple cider vinegar in water pan, various seasonings, and basted every 2 hours over 10 hours (15lb bird)). Good luck with yours ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I cooked my turkey(about 14lbs)and a pork butt on my big grill/ smoker. It has a firebox that I can slide from one end to the other. So it was indirect heat. I ALWAYS use Blackjack oak sometimes adding a log of pecan to it. I kept the temp between 300 and 325 and basted it per the directions.. For the last 30 min I uncovered the bird and put the pork butt over it letting the turkey catch the drippings from it. It took exactly 7 hrs. My wife being skeptical of some of the new things I try...said the turkey had the juiciest breasts she ever tasted in her life. She and our grown kids said it was the best and moistest turkey that I've ever cooked. For those that fry turkeys (which I do that too). This recipe, as moistness goes, beats out a fried turkey to us any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Saint Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I had never smoked a turkey before but my wife asked me to give it a go for Thanksgiving this year to free up oven space. We did a test run in October and invited friends who also had new things that they wanted to try out for Thanksgiving. The bird was delicious and I now know why it has received such a favorable rating. Leftovers lasted for four days and I had a smoked turkey sandwich on each of those days...thought I died and went to heaven. And, as an extra blessing, I realized that although our little electric smoker did a good job in October, it was going at full power and could not get over 230 degrees. Since I was concerned about colder weather in November...and because the wife wanted the free oven space...bingo! A new propane smoker for Thanksgiving! Heh. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had just smoked my first ever turkey before I tried this recipe. My first was a whole bird with an oil, wine and spice marinade. It was disappointing. I nearly gave in to the brining craze before I found this page. All I can say it why the heck would I go to the trouble and mess of brining? In the first place, just try to find an unenhanced bird in a rural area. Secondly, this recipe rocks! I used a Butterball bone-in breast, 6 pounds and change, and reduced the butter, coke and salt to allow for the smaller size. I smoked this Tom breast down in a Weber kettle on indirect heat with a water pan and some apple and hickory chunks. Rather than low and slow, I opted for 300-325*. Internal was only 145* at 3 hours, so I pulled the water pan and let 'er rip to almost 400*. In about an hour I hit my target temp and pulled it. It could not have been more moist and flavorful if I had smoked at 225*. One of the top three turkeys I've ever had. The meat was so tender, I had to be careful not to tear it apart while slicing...and I used a very sharp knife. I don't know what the magic in this recipe is, but you should try it. Forget the brine and smoke it however you want, low and slow, or high and fast. I don't think you could hurt it. Just use the thermometer, especially with the cavity crammed with goodies. Bring it to 165*, rest it, and enjoy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very excellent very first time using a smoker. I did use a brine first, but followed everything else. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States