Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Ok i'm a novice. I tried my own smoked turkey this Thanksgiving for the first time and have vowed never to bake or fry a turkey ever again! This is by far the best way to have turkey. My family loved it. I let the 12 lb turkey sit in brine 8-10 hrs in the refrigerator overnight. Then in the morning, I set up my charbroil grill/smoker for low indirect heat. Then I rinsed the turkey and added garlic, pepper, and cajun seasoning, also butter under the breast. I used soaked hickory chips and a can of chicken broth as my liquid under the turkey. I let it cook until the charcoal and chips burned out completely-my first time, I didn't know I could add more charcoal and wood chips as needed. I wanted to make sure it was done, so I put it in the oven for about an hour covered with foil. OMG! Best turkey I ever had! Best flavor! I also smoked a whole turkey breast for christmas. Not a dry spot on either turkey. Very moist and juicy. The one reviewer who was concerned about the pinkish color might want to try a meat thermometer. Or simply bake covered for a hour. Some smokers and charcoals burn differently so it may take more or less time depending on size of turkey, type of charcoal and wood chips. But it's well worth a try. You will not be disappointed by the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this last night for Christmas Eve. The only changes I made were to use apple wood chips and minced garlic instead of powder for the cavity. My husband never gives 5 stars, but he and the son-in-laws gave it 5 stars. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Got up early to get this started in my new homebrew smoker. Due to an instrumentation error the 14lb bird was done in 4 hrs (10 am). Popped it in the fridge then reheated in the readjusted smoker. Result, amazingly a wonderful tasting moist turkey! Pretty hard to screw up this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great! We made this today in our Grill/Smoker, we had a 13 pound turkey, it was done in 7 hours, it is the best turkey I've ever had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just made a 11lb. for a small Thanksgiving. Excellent! Best turkey we ever had! We brined the turkey overnight beforehand and it cooked in the barrel smoker for only 3 hours. A quality meat thermomether helped us time it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe. It took me 11 hours in my smoker and 1 extra hour covered with foil in my oven. This was my first turkey to smoke. It was delicious! The outside wasn't burnt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is by far the best turkey I have ever eaten. So easy to make. My family just loved it. This beats a baked turkey any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
All the reviews on this is true. I cooked this for my family and friends. Everyone loved it. I used Jack Daniels smoker chips. I used a 17lb turkey which was pushing it since the liquid almost over flowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was trial run for Thanksgiving. We alway fry a turkey but this Thanksgiving we need 2 turks. The turkey was great. The execution was flawed. My turkey was still slightly frozen so I had toooooo much liquid. The top half smoked and the bottom half soaked. It was still very good. Next time I will make sure my turkey is completely thawed. My turkey was 12 lbs and it needed to cook longer than 10 hours. The soaked was fully cooked the smoked part was not. HINT: I soak my Hickory in water and wrapped in foil with holes. I never had to add chips. thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was by far the best turkey I have EVER eaten in my life! I'm not sure I could ever bake another turkey. Even after 10 hours of smoking, the juices poured out of the bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States