Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
13.5 pound turkey 8 hours on gas smoker. it was fabulous......made it for the 4th. took a long unsliced loaf of bread., cut it lengthwise......toasted it...( with garlic butter painted on)in oven., added turkey slices taken off the bones....plus some really nice swiss cheese.....back to oven. sliced it into sandwiches..........and made a horseradish sauce, plus a balsamic vinegar bbq sauce to dress...........it was a huge hit! since it was the 4th,. needed something "picnic" style. not thanksgiving style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Unbelievable! Made mine in a green egg type smoker. Best turkey I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipes is simple and delicious. I have a cheaper smoker without a temperature gauge or control, so I chose to cook in the oven for the first half and then smoke. It is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My husband and I used this recipe for our first-ever attempt at a turkey, for Christmas dinner. It turned out very moist, and my husband said he thought it was better than any turkey his mom had ever made! My parents raised their eyebrows when I poured in the cola, but it turned out perfect. However, we added a lot of sage, like a sausage-seasoning rub. We also cooked it over indirect heat (about 300-350 degrees), covered loosely with foil, on our gas grill, and it took about 4 hours. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Ok i'm a novice. I tried my own smoked turkey this Thanksgiving for the first time and have vowed never to bake or fry a turkey ever again! This is by far the best way to have turkey. My family loved it. I let the 12 lb turkey sit in brine 8-10 hrs in the refrigerator overnight. Then in the morning, I set up my charbroil grill/smoker for low indirect heat. Then I rinsed the turkey and added garlic, pepper, and cajun seasoning, also butter under the breast. I used soaked hickory chips and a can of chicken broth as my liquid under the turkey. I let it cook until the charcoal and chips burned out completely-my first time, I didn't know I could add more charcoal and wood chips as needed. I wanted to make sure it was done, so I put it in the oven for about an hour covered with foil. OMG! Best turkey I ever had! Best flavor! I also smoked a whole turkey breast for christmas. Not a dry spot on either turkey. Very moist and juicy. The one reviewer who was concerned about the pinkish color might want to try a meat thermometer. Or simply bake covered for a hour. Some smokers and charcoals burn differently so it may take more or less time depending on size of turkey, type of charcoal and wood chips. But it's well worth a try. You will not be disappointed by the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this last night for Christmas Eve. The only changes I made were to use apple wood chips and minced garlic instead of powder for the cavity. My husband never gives 5 stars, but he and the son-in-laws gave it 5 stars. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Got up early to get this started in my new homebrew smoker. Due to an instrumentation error the 14lb bird was done in 4 hrs (10 am). Popped it in the fridge then reheated in the readjusted smoker. Result, amazingly a wonderful tasting moist turkey! Pretty hard to screw up this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great! We made this today in our Grill/Smoker, we had a 13 pound turkey, it was done in 7 hours, it is the best turkey I've ever had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just made a 11lb. for a small Thanksgiving. Excellent! Best turkey we ever had! We brined the turkey overnight beforehand and it cooked in the barrel smoker for only 3 hours. A quality meat thermomether helped us time it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States