Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Incredible! I also brined the turkey before smoking it, and it took about 8 hours for a 14 pound turkey. It was moist and delicious. Everyone raved. Used apple wood. I'll do this again for sure. Even better than deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin Higginbottom
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Followed recipe except that I brined bird overnight in 1 quart apple juice, 1 cup salt, 4 cloves crushed garlic and 1.5 gallons water. I use a 5 gallon bucket and put the bird in a food grade garbage bag with the brine mixture and pack the top with ice. The 14 lb turkey was done in 6 3/4 hours. Brining seems to speed up the cook time. Cooking temp was between 225-250F. Flavor was very nice. Got rave reviews from the family. Served it on toasted french rolls with melted swiss cheese and bbq sauce. Not too smokey. I used apple wood which is my favorite for smoking poultry. Bird was super moist. I ran the smoke for about 4 hrs of the total cook time in my vertical gas smoker. Not a ton of meat on a 14 lb bird. Not sure if I will do this again. I am kind of a traditionalist when it comes to turkey. I think I prefer to smoke chicken pieces, thighs in particular. This was probably more work than I like for the amount of meat that it produced. I still would rate this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Higginbottom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I tried this before I saved it and I can't believe how easy it was. Not to mention how good it was . I smoked it for about 11hr. 40min. but it was 22 degrees outside and I was using only the thermometer on the smoker. Awesome fixed this way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Roach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have to agree that this is the best turkey that I have ever fixed. I went with the applewood. Worth the time and effort. This will be our Thanksgiving Day turkey for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Wow! This was excellent, so nice and smokey, but incredibly flavorful and moist! Here goes with my only change, though. We like turkey smokey, but not tooooo smokey, so we smoked it for 4 hours and put it in the oven at 300 to finish the cooking process until the thermometer reached 160.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Phenominal!!!! Best tasting moistest turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I cooked this for a Thanksgiving family get together and this was my first attempt at smoking a turkey and it turned out Fantastic! My husband even said that it was the best he had ever eaten including his Mom's! What a compliment!! I brined my 14.5 pound turkey for 18 hours in salt water and brown sugar, and then follwed the rest of the directions exactly. Because I brined mine though, apparently, it cooked really fast on 225 degrees. My turkey was ready in 7 hours. It had one of the pop up thermometers in it and it had popped but b/c this was my first attemp I was a little hesitant on taking it out of the smoker that soon since I had estimated 11 hours for it to cook per this recipe. But I'm glad I did take it out b/c it was Perfect and moist. Thanks for the great recipe! I'm making this again for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpitts96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I loved it and got great reviews by those who ate it this turkey day. Sadly not all the family love smoked meats as much as I do. Most turkeys don't have much in the way of flavor, but this bird did have plenty. It was moist, and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The best Thanksgiving turkey! We brined the turkey for 24 hrs (Alton Brown brine). We bought a 12 lb free range turkey and it took only 5 hrs to smoke and fall off the bone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Outstanding! This was my very first year to ever cook a turkey at Thanksgiving. I used the "out of this world turkey brine" recipe on this same website then followed this recipe exactly. That turkey was so good my entire family insists I cook it in all future years exactly the same way!!! Perfect smokiness...not too much.......which is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States