Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I loved it and got great reviews by those who ate it this turkey day. Sadly not all the family love smoked meats as much as I do. Most turkeys don't have much in the way of flavor, but this bird did have plenty. It was moist, and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The best Thanksgiving turkey! We brined the turkey for 24 hrs (Alton Brown brine). We bought a 12 lb free range turkey and it took only 5 hrs to smoke and fall off the bone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Outstanding! This was my very first year to ever cook a turkey at Thanksgiving. I used the "out of this world turkey brine" recipe on this same website then followed this recipe exactly. That turkey was so good my entire family insists I cook it in all future years exactly the same way!!! Perfect smokiness...not too much.......which is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a hit. I used the brine recipe for smoked turkey. This was the best turkey I've ever had. The leftovers are great as well. I had a pretty big bird so it took longer then 10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have been using this recipe for six years. I have substituted Guiness Stout for 'cola-flavored carbonated beverage' -- one bottle for the turkey, one bottle for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Awesome doesnt quite cover this recipe!! my 87 year old grandfather said this was the best turkey that he ever ate.... now i am required to repeat this feat every year!!! lol not a problem with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
First time I've ever smoked a turkey and it came out beautifully! I smoked it one day, put it in the fridge after cooling it down and warmed it up in the oven the next day for our meal. It was the JUCIEST turkey I've ever eaten. Some guests were so impressed they went out and bought their own smoker the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
the BEST turkey ever! We converted people who never eat turkey at all into smoked turkey lovers! We smoked it on a traditional wood smoker cabinet, and brined it the night before in Alton Brown's brine recipe. The Best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was delicious, better than a deep fried. The skin is perfect, the meat is moist and the flavor is consistent throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States