Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I bought the smallest Traeger smoker 2 months ago so I experimented tonite with this recipe. I had a horrible experience 3 yrs ago w/ a $30 fresh turkey, brine and roast recipe, so I wanted to give my Traeger a try w/ a $5 Safeway turkey (13 lbs). HOMERUN, awesome turkey...for $5. The $2.50 foil pan I bought fit perfectly. I followed 95% of recipe; thawed the tukey in the fridge, rinsed, & patted dry...rubbed w/ olive oil, minced garlic & poultry seasoning on the outside. I placed the turkey in the pan & added 2 T of butter, the onion, apple, minced garlic, and about 4 c of diet coke in the cavity. I loosely sealed the edges of pan w/ heavy foil. I turned on smoke for 5 minutes with the lid open to get it started, & then closed the lid & heated on high for 10 minutes. The temp at that time was about 300 degrees. I placed the pan on the grill & closed the lid...and kept the smoker on high for 15 minutes. I then turned to medium and continued to go outside to admire the great aroma.. The temp remained around 225 when on medium. Short on time, I alternated between high and medium heat (the temp alternated between 225-300 degrees). At 2 hrs, I basted the turkey w/ butter...it was browning beautifully. I recovered & continued cooking for a total of 4 hrs; unbelieveably moist, fall off the bone, turkey. Can't wait to try again...I will cook on low next time for duration, and skip the basting... Truly the most moist(est) turkey I have every prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Best Turkey ever! Followed directions except I used apple wood chips. Very moist. I have done this twice in the past month the second time i did it i used a turkey with a pop up timer and it was done in 5 hours @ just under 250 temp, it was a 15 pound turkey cooked on a lp smoker. You will be amazed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I followed this exactly as written on my Taeger Smoker using Mesquie and used a 10 lb free range chicken. Very Very good, I have smoked many birds and this was one of the best. The spices were just right and the gravy from the drippings was awsome. Usually the garvy is quite smokey, but this was very nice due to the loose foil the dripping piced up less smoke. I will do this again with a turkey at xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Map

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is very close to the recipe I use except I don't use cola and I DO use Penzey's spices (Bicentennial rub, toasted onion powder and Pork chop seasoning.) I do put cut up apples, onions and lots of garlic in the cavity. I've smoked turkeys every year for the holidays and always get nice juicy birds and rave reviews. I do not baste it as opening the door lets all the heat out. Several hours into it, I put a ham on the rack above so the ham juices drip down over the turkey; really good! Just make sure the water pan does not run out; that will dry out the turkey. When it's done, I take the pan drippings and reduce them, add that to my gravy stock and then a roux and get a nice smoky gravy. I'm drooling just thinking of it. And the clean-up is SO nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamoni, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I love this recipe. It's now a Thanksgiving tradition to smoke a turkey with this recipe. The meat comes out juicy and flavorful. The best thing about it is it's simplicity. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We will be using this recipe every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
great recipe i used apple sauce instead of a apple it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very proud of myself....1st time smoking anything and used this recipe. Only change I made was to use a 6lb Turkey Breast instead of a whole Turkey and I did Brine the bird....Since this was my first time I did slightly over cook it but it was still really really good. The pink part of the breast that was closest to the skin was absolutely delicious! Cooked 7 hours and 1 side of the breast was at 175 degrees and when I checked the other side it was just over 180.....About an hour less would have been the sweet spot. Thank you for putting this recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pittstlrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I make this every year now for my family, this is the best!!!! I soak turkey overnight in apple juice and I use Pecan wood to smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did not baste the turkey as once I close the lid on the smoker I don't take it off until the calculated time of 45 minutes per pound has elapsed. I was skeptical about loosely covering the turkey with aluminum foil but did it anyway. My turkey came out perfect. I had rave reviews and will be using this exact recipe for every turkey I smoke. This mixture of ingredients creates a slightly sweet and incredibly moist turkey. In fact, it's down right addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States