Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used this recipe during Thanksgiving and it was a huge success! Will be using this recipe for now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the BEST turkey ever!!!! We will never make turkey in other way. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
My husband and I tried this before we served it on Thanksgiving just to give the smoker a trial run. It turned out very good. We left it on the smoker a little longer than we should have so it was a little dry but not too bad. It is very flavorful and very easy to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
my husband loved this recipe. it has a really smoky taste. will be using it again for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is a terrific turkey recipe. I'm not crazy for turkey, but I will cook it more often now. When my Dad says "this is the best dame turkey I've had", you know it has to be good because he doesn't compliment much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My husband and I used this recipe to smoke a turkey for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. At first, I was leary about all the different flavors but it was the best turkey I/we have ever eaten. When Christmas came along we had several requests to smoke a turkey for my grandmother's dinner. Of, course we did and our turkey was all gone. The poor oven baked turkey was almost still all in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
My sister made a bag turkey and I made this one. After all was said and done my turkey was a smash hit no leftovers here ! Everybody requested to know where i got the recipe and I told them about allrecipes.com . All I can say is two thumbs up and a 6 star rating from me and the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toberich7272

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Photo by kross
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I just got a new smoker so this was my first try at smoking meat. I'm thrilled I used this recipe because everyone said it was the best turkey they had ever eaten. I did make a few small changes and they were to use a 16 oz. cola instead of the two 12 oz. For the seasoning salt I used a basic barbecue rub that I use on beer can chicken. I used the four crushed garlic cloves on the outside and then put them in the cavity instead of the garlic powder. I smoked two 14 pound turkeys and a 10 pound turkey plus I used the same recipe cut in half on two chickens that I added to the smoker with about 6 hours left in the smoking time. Everything turned out super except I would have to say the turkeys were better than the chickens. I'm adding to this review now a year later. I smoked the turkeys to an internal temperature of 165 degrees which turn out better than 180 degrees and a temperature recommended by a lot of different sites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We used a brined turley so we omitted the seasoned salt. Also hubby said that 10 hours is wayy too long to smoke a turkey...he did our's for about 7. Very tasty but I think we preferred the turkey he deep-fryed.... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I usually make teriyaki turkeys but this surely beat that this year. I got compliments from my DAD! He is not one for much compliments so since he actually enjoyed eating turkey, i was happy. I said I got the recipe online. He just said it was my best turkey i made. Thanks for the recipe! Made my thanksgiving a hit. :D !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States