Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by kross
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I just got a new smoker so this was my first try at smoking meat. I'm thrilled I used this recipe because everyone said it was the best turkey they had ever eaten. I did make a few small changes and they were to use a 16 oz. cola instead of the two 12 oz. For the seasoning salt I used a basic barbecue rub that I use on beer can chicken. I used the four crushed garlic cloves on the outside and then put them in the cavity instead of the garlic powder. I smoked two 14 pound turkeys and a 10 pound turkey plus I used the same recipe cut in half on two chickens that I added to the smoker with about 6 hours left in the smoking time. Everything turned out super except I would have to say the turkeys were better than the chickens. I'm adding to this review now a year later. I smoked the turkeys to an internal temperature of 165 degrees which turn out better than 180 degrees and a temperature recommended by a lot of different sites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We used a brined turley so we omitted the seasoned salt. Also hubby said that 10 hours is wayy too long to smoke a turkey...he did our's for about 7. Very tasty but I think we preferred the turkey he deep-fryed.... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I usually make teriyaki turkeys but this surely beat that this year. I got compliments from my DAD! He is not one for much compliments so since he actually enjoyed eating turkey, i was happy. I said I got the recipe online. He just said it was my best turkey i made. Thanks for the recipe! Made my thanksgiving a hit. :D !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I've smoked many turkeys, but never used so many spices or garlic rub. This was a great tasting turkey. I've already told many others to give it a try. Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
We started using this recipe over three years ago. The first time we did it the whole neighborhood smelled like a BBQ restaurant! This recipe not only smells great it tastes great too. We have tried different variations, but the original is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZCAMPERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This recipe is awsome, I first tried it three yrs ago at my familys thanks giving and i think i might have pissed off my mom abit becouse when all was said an done there was half of my moms oven bird left an none of mine. I kept the recipe the same for the last 2 yrs and this year i was set in charge of the big bird. im smoking a 23lbs bird and am way excited. me and my whole family thank you for this awsome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great recipe, Pay close attention at the end of the ten hours since turkey breast can get dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Excellent recipe. This really does blow your guests away. I have made this several times and I have a few tips. Fyi- I use a electric brinkmann smoker. Don't use a brine if your turkey is injected with a soulution (butterball). 10 to 14 lbs is best. It will definitely take a mininum 10 hours (at 220-230 degrees). 1 can of cola or a 16oz bottle is plenty. I like a hickory/pecan wood mix (pecan is smoother). Don't smoke after the bird reaches 140degrees. degrees.I only baste every 3-4 hours when I check the wood.I also like to rub the bird with rosemary. Enjoy..It's the best turkey you will ever have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Smoked a 141/2 pound turkey in an electric smoker for 6 hours yesterday. Perfection, Oh so tasty. The family is still talking about the delicious flavor. Didn't change a thing. Thank you Doug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was a hit for our Thanksgiving. People that usally don't even like turkey made comments out how delicious it was and took seconds. We will be using this recipe again REAL soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States