Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
The best turkey I've ever had too. I used a Bradley electric smoker with mostly hickory wood and no brine. I don't know why or how, there's nothing really complicated about the recipe but all I can say is that the taste magically goes all the way into the turkey meat. It's not at all bland inside. I think that is the main difference that sets this recipe apart from others. I can't wait for Christmas again. I'm doing one for the Fouth of July....Yee Haw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
GREAT! We plan on serving this several times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coopersville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. The best turkey I've ever made. Cooked in gas smoker about 7-8 hours and came out perfectly. Even my mom, who doesn't like smoked turkey, loved it. I think this might take the place of brisket at our BBQ's from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Yummy! The first time I didn't have leftovers on Xmas. Start early because I had to bring mine in and finish cooking in the oven. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I used a bone-in turkey breast that weighed approximately 10 pounds. I used the spices listed but placed them inside the skin of the turkey. I added 1 tbsp. of white pepper as well. I placed the apple and onion on the center part of the cavity. I did not pour on the coke as I didn't want to clean the mess out of my smoker. I smoked the bird for 2.5 hours and then removed it to a roasting pan. I poured on the coke, covered, and baked the bird for an additional 2.5 hours (internal temperature 170 degrees). The turkey was very tasty. I doubt it could have been much better had I smoked it instead of baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was great. Everyone was skeptical when I poured soda in the pan, but they were believers when when they tasted that very moist and tender bird. I brined the bird overnight and that cut the cooking time almost in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe is awesome. I was a little nervous about the soda. But I took the plunge and did it anyway. The turkey was so flavorful and juicy. Im sold. We will never have dry plain turkey again. I smoked mine in my weber grill with hickory wood chunks soaked over night. I also used charcoal chunks/lumps which burned so much better and longer. It cooked in about 3 hours. 13lbs bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Exceptional. I smoked a 21 pound turkey for 16.5 hours at 185 degrees. Used hickory chuncks. Soaked them for 48 hours before use. Brined the turkey as well. The taste was incredible. I will use this next year too. ~M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Arnim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was our Thanksgiving dinner and it rates a 10! Moist, juicy and flavorful. Our 11 lb. bird did not take 10 hours to smoke, more like 8 hours. We will be using this recipe throughout the year - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used this recipe during Thanksgiving and it was a huge success! Will be using this recipe for now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States