Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe is awesome. I was a little nervous about the soda. But I took the plunge and did it anyway. The turkey was so flavorful and juicy. Im sold. We will never have dry plain turkey again. I smoked mine in my weber grill with hickory wood chunks soaked over night. I also used charcoal chunks/lumps which burned so much better and longer. It cooked in about 3 hours. 13lbs bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Exceptional. I smoked a 21 pound turkey for 16.5 hours at 185 degrees. Used hickory chuncks. Soaked them for 48 hours before use. Brined the turkey as well. The taste was incredible. I will use this next year too. ~M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael and Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was our Thanksgiving dinner and it rates a 10! Moist, juicy and flavorful. Our 11 lb. bird did not take 10 hours to smoke, more like 8 hours. We will be using this recipe throughout the year - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used this recipe during Thanksgiving and it was a huge success! Will be using this recipe for now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the BEST turkey ever!!!! We will never make turkey in other way. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
My husband and I tried this before we served it on Thanksgiving just to give the smoker a trial run. It turned out very good. We left it on the smoker a little longer than we should have so it was a little dry but not too bad. It is very flavorful and very easy to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
my husband loved this recipe. it has a really smoky taste. will be using it again for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is a terrific turkey recipe. I'm not crazy for turkey, but I will cook it more often now. When my Dad says "this is the best dame turkey I've had", you know it has to be good because he doesn't compliment much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My husband and I used this recipe to smoke a turkey for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. At first, I was leary about all the different flavors but it was the best turkey I/we have ever eaten. When Christmas came along we had several requests to smoke a turkey for my grandmother's dinner. Of, course we did and our turkey was all gone. The poor oven baked turkey was almost still all in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
My sister made a bag turkey and I made this one. After all was said and done my turkey was a smash hit no leftovers here ! Everybody requested to know where i got the recipe and I told them about allrecipes.com . All I can say is two thumbs up and a 6 star rating from me and the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toberich7272

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States