Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this recipe for Christmas eve. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wow! I wish I had this recipe years ago. It is delicious. I don't generally don't care for white meat but this white meat was flaverful. The onion and apple seeped through the cavity and gave them added pizazz. I have an LP smoker and 10 hours was way too long for my 13 pounder. Between 5 and 6 hours was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have a Brinkman smoker with a fire box. My bird was absolutely perfect! I did not change any thing. I have learned not to read comments that are more than a few lines. This usually indicates a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My first ever turkey, and it turned out great! Juicy, smokey, flavorful. For a 10 lb bird, I left the LP smoker on 225-250F for 4.5 hours. When it seemed to level off at 147F for about an hour, I bumped it up to 350 for the last 45-60 mins. I followed the recipe except that I started by brining the bird and did not worry about basting except once. Also, I used applewood chips with just a few small chunks of hickory. Highly recommended!! The only thing I would change is not tossing in the second batch of wood chips since the smokey flavor may have been just a bit strong for some people (though not me!). We'll see how the smoked turkey sandwiches turn out from leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this recipe for 2013 thanksgiving. I used a Traeger electric smoker. It was a delicious turkey like the other reviews say. The best I've had. Here are some data points after making this recipe: @ 230 degrees the 15 lb bird took only 5.5 hours to reach an eternal temp of 165!!! (That surprised me after reading how many people left their bird on for 10 hrs) ; you only need 1 can of soda (more won't fit) ; brine the turkey before smoking it. It's the only way to get the moistest and seasoned flavor throughout the thick bird. To conclude I will only ever smoke my turkeys in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was too salty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Used Out of the World Turkey Brine for a day and a half. Smoked a 14# fresh bird in a Trager Pellet grill at 250 for 10 hours. Started basting after 2 hours and continued basting every hour until done. Great smokey taste, juicy and flavorful. Used Applewood for smoking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crushed Tomatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is our go to turkey recipe! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The meat had no flavor at all. Don't make this unless you brine it first. My guess is brining would have made all the difference. Yeah, the meat fell off the bone because it was basically boiled in Coca-cola. And I put a lot of seasoned salt on there and was worried it was going to be too salty. Couldn't taste any of it. I think the cola absorbed all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I always make two turkey each Thanksgiving: one that always comes out perfect (I will share the recipe some time later) and one experimental and we vote. Well this one is equally great and now I am stuck with 2 that my family wants. How do I fit a new experiment into the mix? More guests?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States