Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving with a 21 pound Turkey. I actually over cooked it and burnt the skin (due to a broken thermometer) and it was still juicy and yummy! My grandfather who hardly ever comments on food said it was the best he'd ever had! I added butter under the skin prior to cooking it. I also added butter, celery, onion, and apples on the inside. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I've used this recipe for the last two Thanksgivings and just love it. The turkey comes out perfectly moist every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Easy, but I did overcook it and the skin was tough. My fault though, left it in too long. First time cooking a whole turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wilmoth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Nothing special about the flavor. Came out moist as bags always do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Perfect :) I rubbed the turkey with butter then seasoned with salt and pepper. Also added a quartered apple into the cavity of the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I love doing the turkey this way, it comes out very juicy and all the flavors blend in together very nice. I used abodo, salt, onion powder, garlic powder and butter all over the outside of the turkey. Everybody likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My MIL has been urging me to use a turkey bag for years now and I am SO glad I finally did! It was the best turkey I've ever made, it fell off the bone! I had a 14 lb. turkey and left it in for 3 1/2 hours...it was juicy, tender and to my surprise, the skin was brown and crunchy (Yes, I do eat the skin!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I normally make my turkey in a paper bag, but decided to try a different recipe. I also bought the plastic turkey bags for the first time. When I opened the box, I realized this was basically the same recipe as in the Reynolds box. My turkey turned out kind of dry. I ended up just doing the bone-in breast with wings, so that may have been the problem. I rubbed the bird with butter, salt, pepper, and sprinkled a little paprika. It seems like it needs a little added flavor. My regular recipe in a bag has a couple more seasonings and even honey. This was something different, but I will stick to my regular recipe. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious! I added a quartered apple and some sprigs of fresh thyme and rosemary to the cavity. Also rubbed the bird with butter and put some pats of butter between the meat and skin on the breasts. Sprinkled some salt, pepper, a little garlic powder and,paprika. It cooked for 3 hours for a 13 lb bird. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States