Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have been cooking mny turkeys in a bag sonce before forever. Every year I am tempted to try anothier method, but when it comes down to it, WHY MESS WITH PERFECTION! This is always, always, always good. If you are not interested in displaying the turkey at the table, try roasting it breast side down, You will not believe how wonderful the breast meat becomes. And there is plenty of juice for a wonderful gravy! Try this and I guarantee you will never do it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have used this method for over 30 years and will never cook a turkey any other way. I use some butter and sprinkle seasoned salt on it which helps the browning of the skin. I also stuff some apples and onions in the cavity for extra flavor. I don't understand why more people don't use this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I always cook my turkey in a bag. I also stuff the cavity with lemon (cut in half), garlic (whole, peeled) and fresh rosemary. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I've used this method for years. I rub the bird down with oil, then massage in powdered herbs, salt & pepper. I place an apple, orange & onion in the cavity. I also make a bed of diced aromatic vegetables and herbs (about 2-3 cups, they cook down), including a diced turnip (yes!), then place the turkey on top inside the bag. It produces several cups of intensely flavored "essence". After every other "magic" method of turkey roasting fell flat, I returned to the "bag", and have always had a moist, delicious golden brown turkey every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Using the bag makes the turkey juicy every single time. Also to completely enjoy moist turky put it breast side down for the majority of cooking and at the last 45min or so remove from bag and turn right side up to brown the top a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHCRONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I've also been cooking my turkey like this, I do however quarter a red apple and a vidalia onion, sprinkle them with sage and place inside the cavity. I use celery salt and fresh pepper mixed with my flour in the bag. Turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I've been doing this for years. It's super easy. Cuts cooking time by half. Turkey comes out perfect every time. I always recommend this method to friends who are nervous about making their 1st bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ritter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I always cook my turkey in a brown paper bag. It gets nicely browned, is very moist because it gets steamed, and takes less time to cook. I rinse my bird inside and out, dry with paper towels, run some vegetable oil in the cavity and rub oil all over the outside, salt inside and out, then rub butter inside and out. Then I put the stuffing into the cavity. Next, I run some oil around inside the paper bag to oil all of its sides. Finally, I put the turkey in the bag, staple it shut, and put into my roaster. Into the oven it goes. Depending upon its size, it can take up to 45 minutes less time to cook. Be very careful opening the bag because the steam is very hot. I just start to tear the bag away from the turkey slowly to release the steam. Once you try this method, you will never cook a turkey any other way! This works for whole chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Made this twice & turned out great both times! Turkey was so tender it was falling off the bone. We did rub some butter on outside of skin, but otherwise made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
AMAZING. I have never had good luck cooking turkey, so I thought I would give this a try. It was the most moist, delicious turkey I think I have ever had. People were fighting over the crispy golden skin. The clean up was quick and easy. I will never cook turkey any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States