Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I always cook my turkey in a bag, with rosemary, garlic and butter. It ALWAYS turns out incredible. You can even add a little of the McCormick's Turkey Rub. Just follow the directions for poundage on the packaging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Conventional Turkey Oven bags are OK, but if you want a bird that does not taste like it has been 'stewed'...try my tip. Take a large brown craft paper bag..(without any inked priniting on it)...and 1 lb of very soft butter..grease the inside and outside of the bag heavily...then butter the outside of the stuffed bird...(does not take a full pound)...I prefer a 12 pound bird free ranger. Slip the bird into the bag (this is always fun)...and tie the end of the paper bag securely with butcher twine..set on a rack uncovered in a 'large' roasting pan and pour in 31/2 - 4 cups of water or chicken stock. Pan liquid should not touch paper bag. Roast this 'bagged' bird for up to 4 hours in a 350 degree oven...checking hourly to ensure the pan does not dry out totally, and add to the liquid as required. No basting ever required using this method! After 4 hours (pan liquid should be then be minimal)..take out and the paper bag will easily lift off...put stuffed bird on platter cover with foil, and begin to make your gravy...I like to add a prepared Knorr Swiss Poultry or Turkey package to the pan juices to further enhance the drippings that do accumulate in the pan liquid......it sounds odd...but I have done this 3 times a year for about 20 years! To rave reviews! Effortless really...and you have a perfectly roasted 12 lb bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I've made my turkey in a bag for years and it really keeps in the moisture. I also rub it down with butter and red wine before putting it in the bag, and I place a whole onion (peeled), and apple or orange (not peeled) inside the turkey, this also adds flavor and keeps it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Yes, I know -- it seems inbelievable. That's what I thought, too, when DH first suggested it several years ago. But the turkey WILL come out perfect, every time, and the stock is amazing for gravy! We put rosemary and garlic under the skin, and lemon rinds inside the cavity. Extra extra yummy. Don't forget to flour the bag as per instructions, and let the bird rest outside the oven for 20-30 minutes for easier carving. Happy Thanksgiving to all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The best and fastest way to prepare a turkey. The turkey is moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hope, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Only way to make a turkey!!! Use the oven bag from R**ynolds. Started 26 years ago, making the turkey as a newlywed for his family....yep, his family gave me the turkey to fix...blew their minds that I could fix one that was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is the best and only way I'll do a turkey in the oven. Saves time in roasting and clean-up and the taste, texture, moisture can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
i started using the turkey bag when i met my hubby.i used always just rub with butter and seasoning and bake in the past like my mom.but since using the bag i won't cook it any other way. and yes clean up is a snap.thanks to my hubby for introducing me to the turkey bag.it works in my big slow cooker as well as in the oven.just rub and season as i always do and then put turkey in the bag and bake.i don't even have to baste any more and more plus i haven't had one dry turkey since i started using the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have been cooking mny turkeys in a bag sonce before forever. Every year I am tempted to try anothier method, but when it comes down to it, WHY MESS WITH PERFECTION! This is always, always, always good. If you are not interested in displaying the turkey at the table, try roasting it breast side down, You will not believe how wonderful the breast meat becomes. And there is plenty of juice for a wonderful gravy! Try this and I guarantee you will never do it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have used this method for over 30 years and will never cook a turkey any other way. I use some butter and sprinkle seasoned salt on it which helps the browning of the skin. I also stuff some apples and onions in the cavity for extra flavor. I don't understand why more people don't use this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States