Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The turkey was fantastic! AllI did was rub it down with butter,sage, salt & pepper and put some flour in the botom of the bag...cooked a 16lb. turkey for 4 hours. Very moist and great!!! I have cooked this turkey 3 times now in a bad. Always turns out super good. Last time I rubbed it with butter, garlic powder,sage,rosemary,salt &pepper and paprika. SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this turkey exactly as stated except I also added some baby carrots inside the cavity along with the celery and onions. BE CAREFUL about the cooking time. My eleven pound turkey was done in 2-1/2 hrs. It was a little dry since I left it in an additional 15 minutes in hopes that it would brown some more. It didn't brown as much as I would have liked, but it made a nice broth for making gravy without all that butter. I will definitely make it again but take it out before it's overdone this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
definitely pay attention as it takes much less time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My first year doing this. I forgot to add the flour and the turkey was alone in the bag. I let it stand a half hour before carving and it was so awesome!! My whole family sat there chewing with their eyes popping out of their heads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was amazing! Cooked a 20 lb bird for 3 1/2 hours - temp got to 190. We stuffed the cavity with sliced apples and onions, in addition to adding onions and celery to the floured Reynolds bag. We rubbed the bird with softened butter, and seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I don't if this helped, but I accidently cooked the bird breast-side down, and the breast was nicely browned, CRISPY SKIN, and as juicy as I've ever eaten. My mom is the best cook I know, and this blew away anything she's ever made for Thanksgiving! Without question, this was the best turkey I've ever had (including deep-fried), and I will never do turkey any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yum! Made this and everyone LOVED it! Moist and Juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
At 38, this is the first time I have actually been able to cook a full Thanksgiving meal for my family. This turkey came out perfect !!!!! Thank you !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensasweetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Did the Turkey in a Bag, it was delicious, I'm so glad I took the time to read all the reviews. Will definetly do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITASOSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I tried this method for the first time this Thanksgiving. The turkey was absolutely perfect, and even the professed "non-turkey-lovers" were impressed and had second helpings. We'll use the oven bags every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Wow, I'll never go back to traditional roasting. The turkey I used was from last season and I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I just happened to have one cooking bag so decided to give it a try. The turkey was brown ( I did use some paprika) and as one reviewer said even the dark meat was good and I don't usually prefer it. The clean-up was a breeze and the gravy was unbeatable. I didn't think it would be done in 3 hours so I cooked it longer but 3 hrs. would have been sufficient. But even w/ cooking iit longer it still was moist and wonderful. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States