Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I have been cooking my turkey's in a bag since forever. I actually cook mine upside down (breast down) and it ensures super juicy turkey every time! The last 20 minutes or so I turn the bird right side up and let the breast brown and it is the PERFECT turkey! I also always cut slits into the skin and insert butter. I have used bags and I use different seasoning every year for some variety. Italian seasonings with garlic cloves, orange and cranberries and other ways. Bag roasting your turkey is the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
9 lb turkey...I expected it to be 2 hours or less based on other comments but it ended up being 2.5 hours. I forgot to put holes in the bag. I did open up the bag for the last 15 min or so to brown it. Also rubbed turkey with olive oil and seasonings...stuffed cavity with cut apples. YUMMY turkey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the best way to cook turkey...ever! Some may argue it's "steaming not roasting" but I say "who cares?" the end result is a moist flavourful bird, and stock that will make gravy that will knock your socks off! I find if you rub the breast (under the skin) with a combo of butter and olive oil and whichever herbs you prefer..I like just sage and thyme, it will really bring out the flavour of the turkey. It took my 11 pounder just over 2 hours, then rested it for 30 min. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
First Time I cooked a turkey and it turned out great! I brined it for over 12 hours (garlic, honey and wine) then put garlic butter under the skin. I had a 12 pound turkey and it cooked in 2 hours! was really juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I soaked the Turkey overnight in Brine solution and then followed this recipe. BEST Turkey my husband and I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
EXCELLENT recipe! My husband and I served this to a group of single soldiers for Thanksgiving and they LOVED it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
came out really tender on thanksgiving 2009. onion, garlic, apple, and pepper flavors went right into the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Why had I never heard of this before? Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is the first turkey I've ever made and it's definitely fool proof! I did put an apple inside like someone else suggested. Soooo good and it made me look like I knew how to cook a turkey. Double bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I'm a beginner cook and this recipe was so easy for me. I cooked this for my family's christmas get together and it came out perfect. I did add carrots and a couple apples, but other than that did everything the same and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceC2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugoton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States