Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Why do y'all still cook to 180? That's old info. A turkey farmer told me that 160 is good, and the official word by the USDA is that 165 in the thigh (not less anywhere) is safe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I have made turkey like this for 6 years now. My guests always rave about the moist turkey. Plus, you don't need to get up at 5 am to make a turkey and stay by the oven for 1/2 hour bastings. It is done perfectly and tastes great in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
this is my 4th yr for this recipe, don't plan on changing any time soon. I make a 20lb. and it looks and taste great in 31/2 hrs Happy thanksgiveing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
My mother also used the cooking bags for use and now I always do. It cuts the roasting time, and you can stuff the bird or not. I like to rub the skin with butter, season it, and sprinkle paprika on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Also, if you don't carve it at the table, cook the turkey upside down. The breast meat seems to keep so much moister that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Have always used Turkey bags for turkey's, hams, chickens, etc., they are awesome on clean-up...If I could have, I would have given this one 100 stars...lol Thanks for putting this on here DYCLARK, now other's who have never used cooking bags WILL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I've been doing this for years, mainly due to the shortened baking time. Yes, best way to go. I don't add the celery or onions either, and I stuff the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have been using this method for years. My family loves it. It has always worked for me. I use a large BROWN paper grocery shopping bag. I oil and season the turkey well and spray Pam inside the bag. Put the turkey inside bag. Make sure the bag does not touch the meat on top. Secure the open end with metal picks. Remove carefully in the end. Make sure that the paper does not touch any elements in the oven. Bake as usual. Toward the end of the baking period, open the bag and baste the meat. The bag will also collect the juices, which are much easier to remove and save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have been making my turkey this way for years! Turns out perfect every time! I do season the inside & outside of the bird liberaly with salt & pepper. Smear butter under the skin & on top. Makes for the best gravy (most fat removed). I love that I can prepare it the night before, & pop into the oven the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I have been cooking my turkey's in a bag since forever. I actually cook mine upside down (breast down) and it ensures super juicy turkey every time! The last 20 minutes or so I turn the bird right side up and let the breast brown and it is the PERFECT turkey! I also always cut slits into the skin and insert butter. I have used bags and I use different seasoning every year for some variety. Italian seasonings with garlic cloves, orange and cranberries and other ways. Bag roasting your turkey is the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States