Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have used this method of cooking turkey for years, I have xcooked a 20-25lb turkey in this way and they have always turned out great. We have both white and dark turkey eaters and no one is ever disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
WATCH YOUR TIME! My husband and I have used this method for the last 3 years. By far the best turkey we have ever had and we continue to get rave reviews about it. Here is our secret: Thaw turkey for 5 days in fridge. Follow direction as stated above (although we use stuffing and fill the bird within and inch or so of top of cavity). Put 6 slits in the bag. When it comes to timing We usually have a 16lb bird that we cook at 350 for 2 hours and 15 minutes. When the time is up we take it out of the oven and put the lid of the roasting pan on it. The turkey serving platter then sits on top. We leave it on the counter for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Even then, when we go to take it out of the pan, it is too hot to touch with bare hands. Snip the corner of the bag as someone is holding the bird up to get out juice for gravy. Carve up the bird and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by detack@charter.net

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I cook out turkey this way every year. The turkey always comes out moist, even if it's in for longer than directed! I usualy just add the flour to the bag, salt and papper the bird and butter it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Galan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have used only a cooking bag for my Thanksgiving turkeys for the past several years, wouldn't think of cooking a turkey any other way! My family doesn't like dark meat, so I traditionally cook 2 turkey breasts at a time in the same large bag. Great, foolproof way to cook a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is the best way to cook your turkey. Been doing this forever. Same recipe in turkey bag container. Tried cooking turkey open in oven once and was not as good. I do put olive oil on skin first so bag doesn't stick to turkey. You can also cut slit on top of bag for periodical basting but not necessary. I do it because I learned it from my Mom and she is the best cook ever!lol Definitely save the juice for gravy, best you'll ever make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I cant believe how perfect this turned out! Juicy, moist and perfectly browned! Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made a 14 pound turkey using this recipe for a large group of people and I could not have been more pleased with the results. The only thing that I did differently was that I took a stick of butter and rubbed the turkey down both under and on top of the skin, then threw what was left into the turkey cavity. I then sprinkled the whole turkey with salt, pepper, and dried sage and put the onion & celery both in the cavity and around the turkey. Also, it only took TWO hours and fifteen minutes to cook, resulting in a perfectly moist and delicious turkey. If you are unsure of how long your turkey will need to cook, you can always look on the Reynolds (oven bags) website for their recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marella
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Absolutely fool-proof! My first turkey ever, and it was a success thanks to this recipe =D For fellow beginner, the turkey takes 3 days to defrost, and 10 hours to brine, which makes it stay moist and full of flavor. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was very shocked how this turned out... no basting needed - although I've never cooked a turkey before... this was great for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Believe it... this one's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States