Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I use a paper grocery bag! Smear the inside of the paper bag completely with butter. Put your favorite items in the cavity ( apple, onion, rosemary)of the bird. If cooking a large turkey extend the height of the bag by stapling the top of another bag to it. Put your turkey in the bag, fold over the opening and staple closed and bake as normal in a roasting pan. No basting, no fuss. You have the most perfectly browned, juicy turkey with crispy skin. I have tried cooking my turkeys other ways but nothing beats this technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Hunsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenora
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I decided to use this AllRecipes version today. It took approximately 3 hrs 20 mins for the temp to reach 180 degrees. Through the turkey bag, it turned out with a beautiful color. I will find out about flavor and level of moisture after I allow it to sit for about 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
If I'm not deep-frying my turkey, I'm making it exactly like this: in a bag. Amazing flavor and moist meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Excellent every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Super easy and moist! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Turned out so juicy and golden brown even though my meat thermometer stopped working and I ended up leaving it in too long. This recipe was made for Catastrophe Prone Cooks like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My sister has been using this method for years and her birds come out very moist but not always so flavorful. So I used this method, cooking just as directed, but I stuffed it with an onion, celery, a head of garlic, and bunches of rosemary, thyme, and sage. Like my sister, I also put butter and herbs under the skin, salt and peppered the outside before pouring butter over it. And I added some paprika to help with the browning. So good! The meat had a lot of flavor, was super moist, and it browned well... on top. The bottom was something to hide; it looked how one may imagine Santa's rear... But yea, big hit. Great method. And it only took 2.5 hours for my 12 pound turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe! Easy too, especially for someone with less experience in bird cooking (like me...). My husband loved it the first time I made it and we have been sharing this recipe with friends and family ever since! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have to give this a strong 5 stars. I have never cooked a turkey in my life. This recipe made it so easy for someone like me. I couldn't find how heavy the turkey was so I just guessed and it turned out perfect! After cooking the turkey it was so juicy and literally the meat just fell off of the bones! I did change the recipe a little bit to accomodate my taste buds. Instead of using flour I used Bisquick pancake batter. I put salt and pepper on the inside and the outside. One onion cut in fours and Habanero hot sauce at the bottom of the bag. Garlic bits that come in a jar that is wet. I just took two heaping table spoons of that stuff. I cooked it for 5 hours.... totally guessing on the time. AND it was perfect AND TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First time hosting Thanksgiving for my in-laws. I'll tell you how I did it, for any other first time hosts :) 21lb. frozen turkey, thawed it in a pan in the refrigerator for 3 days. Soaked it for 2 hours in 1 3/4 cup of Kosher salt and enough water to cover the bird. Rinsed off very well and dried with paper towels (a lot!). Rubbed EVOO, garlic powder and onion powder all over the outside, inside cavity, and under the breast skin on the breast meat (careful not to tear the skin). I chopped 1 large onion, 4 medium carrots, and 6 celery stalks. I put the bird in the bag, then on the pan rack then sprayed the top half of the bag with Pam to prevent sticking. I halved and cored a Braeburn apple and placed a healthy sprig of Thyme on each half and placed them in the cavity. I then filled the rest of the cavity with the chopped vegetables. Any vegetables that didn't fit inside the cavity went in the bag around the bird. Sealed the bag tightly with the tie and pricked a tiny hole in the bag right above the stuffed cavity. Cooked at 350 for 4hrs and 10 min. I didn't use any paprika. I meant to but I forgot, but my bird browned very well without it. The meat was sooo moist and flavorful. I didn't even use any salt or pepper. The taste was so close to my grandma's turkey! I don't usually eat the dark meat but tried it and actually liked it! There will be enough drippings for a lot of delicious gravy. Anyone wanting to impress their guests with the best tasting turkey, THIS IS IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States