Turkey Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
SO GOOD! I used ground turkey and took the advice of another review and used 7% fat 93% lean turkey and added more like a tablespoon of Greek seasoning and it turned out delicious! Will be making this at least once a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used whole wheat tortillas to make it even healthier. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Used chicken instead of turkey. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
So good. Bought cucumber sauce at Trader Joe's which this super easy recipe that much faster to prepare. My 5 year old was even praising them. Can't wait for leftovers at lunch tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie-lmp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe is very healthy and tastes delicious. I used 99% lean turkey tenderloin--it was little dry, but the addition of the sauce (I used nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream) compensated for it. If you don't want to use the sauce, you may want to use a fattier cut of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
These were wonderful!!! I made the sauce first to give the ingredients a chance to meld. To warm the pita bread, I put it on a plate, covered it with a wet paper towel and microwaved each one for 30 seconds. Made them much more pliable. All the flavors were terrific together and my whole family can't wait to have it again! Oh and it didn't take long to put together, about 30 minutes, which is a HUGE plus for families on the run! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Uses a greek seasoning but not greek yogurt. Makes no sense. Pita bread is pain to eat as well. The whole thing just feel apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Yummy, worked great with leftover turkey from holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I didn't think we were going to like this, but once the entire package was complete, it was pretty awesome. My husband and I are die hard gyro fans, so I made a few minor adjustments to suit our own tastes. First of all, the turkey seemed bland, but that could have been due to the kind of greek seasoning I used. I ended up doubling the seasoning and adding about 1/2 tsp. black pepper. I personally do not like cucumbers, but I do like tzatziki sauce so I pureed the entire cucumber and added it to the sauce. You have to be careful doing this because your sauce can turn into water. To do this, I add the pureed cucumber a little at a time and stop when I think it's getting too watery. Finally, when putting the gyro all together, I added sliced onions. This turned out so close to the real thing that we couldn't tell we were eating turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I loved this! I did make it with ground turkey because apparently I can't read directions so that's what I bought. It still turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States