Turkey Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe to the T and it turned out perfect. I used fat free chicken broth and hillshire farms andouille. I think if you made turkey broth from scratch and included turkey skin as well as kept the skin on it would definitely be too greasy. Use fat free broth and white skinless turkey meat and it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
The oil measurement must be off. Also, a roux is so much better made with bacon fat--you only need a little bit (maybe a quarter cup to 1/2 cup flour) and it can get super hot (unlike butter), then mix in the flour, stir like crazy until it smells nutty, then add the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I enjoyed my gumbo but I couldn't give this recipe 5 stars because I modified it. My Cajun Grandmother (who was an AMAZING cook) always said the best rule of thumb for making a gumbo roux is 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup flour, 8 cups stock. So when I read this recipe I was shocked at the amount of oil, flour and stock that was called for. Goodness me...that would be some THICK, greasy stuff!!! So I followed the recipe except for those amounts. It was pretty good. Great way to use some of our leftover turkey. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Tired this recipe last night and it was Wonderful!!! Everyone raved about what a great way to use left over turkey and wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing this. I did follow the recipe as close as I follow any recipe. I did add 1/4 cup more of floor to balance out the roux and more stock while cooking to keep it the consistency we like. The last 15 minutes of cooking, I added shrimp because at our house, Gumbo, need shrimp. Served it over rice. Truly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saffers47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Instead of the oil, use butter.... everyone I served this to said it was the best gumbo they every had, I added tobasco, garlic and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
After reading the reviews, I cut the flour and oil both down to 1/2 cup each - the recipe was delicious and a great way to use some left over turkey! We also added a bag of frozen okra to the gumbo with 30 minutes left to cook. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Wow....The roux is way off! Followed this recipe to a T...Tasted like veg oil. Not close to gumbo in any way. to correct recipe would be to use less oil & a little butter to make the roux. also need garlic & blk pepper. would not recomend waisting your time, money or leftover turkey. This recipe should be removed from this well trusted web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Taking others' advice, I cut the oil down to a half cup and used a half cup of flour. The house still smells like a fry-up, but the end result gumbo was not too greasy. I didn't have any file powder or sassafras (which is what file is made from) so I subsituted a combination of sage, thyme and oregano - a recipe I pulled from Wikipedia. I used chorizo sausage I had on hand, leftover rice from an order of Chinese, and my leftover Thanksgiving turkey. A good use of what was hanging around in the fridge after the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGFALLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I make this recipe based on the previous measurements that were posted. I believe it was recently edited to double everything. Anyway, I gave it 4 stars because as written there is WAY too much roux. I make this recipe as written several times a year, except for cutting down on the oil and flour for the roux. It is absolutely delicious and easy to make. You may need to add a little more stock if you find it is too thick or cook it down more if too thin for you. You really can't mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I am pretty sure that the oil measurement is wrong as well as the flour one. I made a roux tonight to add turkey stock to & all it took was 1 stick of butter & about 3 tablespoons of flour. I added about 6 cups of turkey stock, a little at a time, & ended up with about 5 cups of yummy gravy. I also added chic granules for clout & kitchen bouquet. have to be careful with KB as it is potent. My Grandmother used it. It is in all grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acc Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States