Turkey Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
OMG just delicious with a few chgs. per another reviewer, Janett, and myself. I cooked a small onion and a half with the garlic called for and then added 1.28 lbs. of lean ground turkey and browned it. I then added a can of 28 oz. of diced tomatoes (which had garlic, basil and oregano added to it), 3 cups of tomato sauce, a good pinch or two of oregano, a dash of chili powder, salt, a touch more basil than called for in recipe, a sprinkle of red pepper and a good pinch of emeril's all purpose (essence..i think) spice. By accident I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar rather than 2 teaspoons. I then simmered it on cooktop for at least 45 minutes (hubby was late) and served it over a full 16 oz. package of bow tie pasta. Thanks so much for a great recipe. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by im_christina
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is a super easy recipe and takes less than the 45 minutes noted. I also use what items are in my pantry. No stewed tomoatoes, then I use a can of Rotel. No Tomato Sauce; ahh...there's the leftover Spaghetti Sauce in the fridge...there we go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I agree with other reviewers that the proportion of sauce to pasta doesn't work. I will double the tomato sauce when I make this again. I used whole grain rotini pasta which really captures the sauce and it tasted great. I also added a little bit of tomato paste and more spices (oregano, paprika, and salt and pepper to taste). My two-year-old liked this so I think it is well worth tweaking to suit our own tastes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My husband tried this when I was sick one night, and it was not good. Very, very bland. I ended up trying to rehab it with all kinds of spices and additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I thought that this was a good base recipe, but I only used 10 oz of turkey instead of a pound and there was way more than enough meat - too much, really. Next time I will double up on the tomato and other ingredients then freeze the leftovers for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very delightful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Cady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lennox, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Super delish! Following the advise of other reviewers I added mushrooms, onions, tomato paste, and lots of spices (oregano, onion powder, garlic powder, parsley, red pepper, chili powder, cilantro, ground pepper and dash of salt). And doubled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Good basic recipe but way too much pasta to be a goulash, I think. I used a full 15 oz. can of tomato sauce, a full 28 oz. can of stewed, diced tomatoes and less pasta than called for (a 13oz. box of higher fiber rotini pasta) and it was still too much. I futzed around with additional garlic, some dried oregano, more basil, no sugar but next time will try adding an extra can of tomato sauce, frozen corn, olives, etc. It's a great way to stretch a pound of ground turkey. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Other than adding some red pepper flakes, I made it as it called for. I really liked it. Yummy leftovers! And, come on, how cute is bow-tie pasta! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Update: I have made this several times since the first review and it has become a favorite basic dinner. I use half the pasta and top with a dolop of sour cream. ////This was good but I agree with other reviews, there is was too much pasta. I left out about a 1/4 of my pasta but I wish had left out 1/2. I added additional Italian seasoning. It's pretty basic but good. A good dish for kids, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States